[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2008-05-18 - 11:58 a.m. - i am derricks sickness...

I�ve been under the weather the past few days. I think it�s my body�s way of telling me to slow the fuck down. I had a chance to crash an open bar party last night and drink myself to oblivion, but I opted out to get some much needed Theraflu-nighttime-induced rest. I�ve also been sucking down Airborne Formula like a champ. The pink grapefruit flavor is my favorite. Not sure if it�s actually helping, but I figure all the vitamins, minerals and herbal stuff isn�t hurting. Plus there�s the placebo effect. Hell, that�s got to count for something, doesn�t it? I�m here to lay the homeopathic smack down on this bitch ass cold virus, and let these microscopic fuckers know not to fuck with Derrick.

There�s only three more weeks of class left and my scheduled graduation date is June 15th. Not to say that my graduate degree isn�t challenging, because the past few years have been pretty tough, but for some reason it seemed that my undergrad was a lot tougher, my classes were more programming intensive, and no matter how challenging my classes were, I was on top of everything, especially in group projects. Nowadays I feel myself struggling just to keep afloat. I guess it has always been a struggle, even in those undergrad days, but now I feel the slowdown, like my age is finally catching up to me.

I guess the timing is just right that I can finally square away my goal of achieving a higher education. I�m saddened that my grandfather is not alive to see what I�m going to accomplish, because he was and continues to be a major inspiration for my pursuit of higher education. If it�s any consolation he was still alive when I told him I was going for my master�s degree. He was already bedridden, living out his final year or so, but the smile and the look of overwhelming pride in his face when I told him, especially in light of his condition, were priceless. Even though he is gone from this world, part of me is still doing it for him.

Thanks to my �ber GPA, I will likely be graduating �with distinction�, which is pretty much the equivalent to a �summa cum laude� of an undergraduate degree. I�m not sure if this makes up for all those years of being such a fucking slacker, but it definitely helps. And I know that if my grandfather were alive today there would be no end to the pride and happiness he would be feeling hanging my master�s degree up next to his, from his own alma mater no less, DePaul University.

So anyway, aside from graduation, there�s a possibly interesting development on the horizon. It seems my cousin has gotten close to a friend who is looking to �sow her wild oats�, figuratively speaking of course. I�m guessing she has reached this point because of her culture and upbringing. She�s East Indian with strict parents on top of a very Christian religious background. It�s weird because I�ve always thought of myself as the kind of guy you could bring home and introduce to your parents, but in her case because I�m not East Indian and because I�m not part of the church they attend, I probably wouldn�t be allowed anywhere near her home.

I think all that sexual repression of her background and upbringing only helps to fuel her �inner freak�. According to my cousin, she�s been around, at least as much as she can be with her environment so it�s not like I�d be stealing her innocence or anything like that. She�s not looking to abandon her culture or her upbringing. If she�s ever going to marry, it would have to be a Christian East Indian, I mean as far as her family is concerned there are no other choices on the table for her. She is looking to get all these urges out of her system and it seems I�m a prime candidate to help her in that respect.

It�s a bit weird, because the idea of sex hasn�t been in the forefront of my mind for a very long time. I mean sure, the idea occasionally creeps in my head every once in a while, but it no longer holds the same status of obsession that I had throughout my teens and twenties. I now find myself not just thinking about sex again, but planning how I can make this happen, because if I pursue this girl, the outcome is very likely. It�s even weirder because I thought my days of sneaking around and hiding from a girl�s parents were long gone for me, yet here it comes again and in an even more weird way, I find the possibility slightly fascinating. I suppose it�s a switch from all the innocent albeit undeniable attention from females who are married, engaged and/or are in steady-relationships that I�ve been getting as of late.

I don�t know, I might call her after my finals, not to get freaky at first, just on a regular date to get to know her a little better, I mean I only met her twice and 99% of what I know of her is hearsay from my cousin, and I wasn�t even asking about her, she was just confiding with me like she always does. What I do know is that from the couple times I�ve met her, the chemistry is there and she seems to find me intriguing and amusing. Well, I guess most people I run into have similar impressions. Anyway, I guess we�ll see what happens. Until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76