[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2008-07-12 - 8:46 a.m. - iphone fans get i-pwned...

It looks like a plethora of early-adopting iPhone fans worldwide ran into problems activating their much coveted "jesus phone". For some reason, the iTunes server was unable to handle the bombardment of activation requests, causing some people to either wait as long as 2 hours to get their phone activated, or were allowed to purchase an unactivated iPhone only to run into similar difficulties trying to activate it from home. Check out the following headlines:

iPhone glitches derail Apple's launch event magic

Apple and AT&T Stores Having Difficulty Activating iPhones (UPDATE: It's the iPocalypse)

And that my friends is one of the reasons I no longer wait in line for an iPhone launch product. Among other reasons, which I described in my last entry, I also recall a few similar problems with the activation of my own 2G iPhone when I purchased it June 2007. You don't need a crystal ball to predict the obvious.

I had a co worker who took the early part of the day off to wait in line for the iPhone. He was allowed to purchase an unactivated iPhone from the AT&T store and brought it into work. Towards the end of business, around 4:00 pm CDT or so, he was finally able to get his iPhone activated. He was having other problems getting his contacts ported over to his new phone, so I lent him my ubergeek skills and showed him how to copy his contacts from his old phone to his new SIM card and copy those contacts from there to his brand-spanking new 3G iPhone. Like I've always said before, it's good to know Derrick. Actually, I don't specifically remember if I ever said it before, but I wouldn't be surprised if I did say it once or twice in the past. =p

So anyway, I am still itching to get a phone of my own. Like I mentioned in the previous entry, I won't be getting a 3G iPhone, if Apple decides to release a 32GB model, which I'm rather sure they will, eventually I may reconsider, but until then I'll hold off. Meanwhile, there are a few other phones that are currently piquing my interest. The Sony Ericsson Xperia X1 is being released in September, but I'm not sure if I want to wait that long for a phone. The North American version of the N95 with its 8GB update is still one of the best phones out there, but with the N96 looming in the horizon and with the added wait for a North American N96 model to be released, it's still best to just wait there too.

There are a handful of other phones I an considering, but I think the HTC Touch Cruise is at the top of the list for me at the moment, because I'm in need of a GPS and it has a full GPS receiver with Tom Tom software built into it. Sure I can buy a cheapo GPS unit (as cheap as $100 for a refurbished standalone unit) to satisfy my immediate GPS needs (yes, Derrick is directionally challenged), but knowing me I'd wind up buying the most expensive thing out there (it can literally costs thousands to retrofit my car with an in-dashboard unit), and if I'm going to spend that much money anyway, I might as well get a phone out of the deal. =p

Well anyway that's all I have to blog for the moment, until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76