[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2008-10-24 - 9:44 a.m. - (for better or worse) i am derricks birthday...

First of all quick update, I'm here in Manila, Philippines. Although I was able to setup a WiFi Router in my aunt's and uncle's condo things have been really hectic, so I haven't really had the chance to blog an update until now. There are quite a few experiences to share, but I'll put in a more comprehensive update when I return home. Meanwhile, I've uploaded TONS of pictures to my Facebook account, so if you are already a friend there go ahead and check them out. If you are one of those lurker types, they are posted as public so you don't even have to add me as a friend, just go straight to my photos.

Unfortunately I'm hesitant to link them directly because I'm trying to maintain a certain degree of anonymity and putting in the link would make it almost too easy to ID me through this blog and it will affect the honesty and sincerity of my entries and we wouldn't want that now would we? ;) If you have trouble finding my Facebook pictures though, just let me know via notes or whatever and I'll point you in the right direction.

Moving right along, we go to the main purpose of this entry and that is my birthday. I don't really know what it is about birthdays. My theory is that whatever feeling you may have, it tends to magnify it significantly so if you are happy, sad, ambivalent, etc. your birthday will make you even more happy happy, sad, ambivalent or whatever else you may be feeling during your "special day".

I'd say right now even in the middle of this really cool vacation abroad, I can't help but swing between sadness and ambivalence. I remember when birthdays was nothing but times of happy celebration. Since my divorce and the death of my best friend however my birthdays have been a bit of a downer. I think I had my first "early mid-life crisis" moment during my 29th birthday. The gravity of that day just hit me like an oncoming freight train and I don't think it's really been the same ever since. It is now my 37th birthday so I'd say that's quite a few "not so happy" birthdays.

I have this fear that I can never go back to the times when my birthday where simply and naturally a happy occasion. The complexity of my emotion is such that I just want to forget about this day and make it so that it's just like any other day as if this concept of having and celebrating my birthday never existed. It's hard to just forget though because there's always someone around who remembers and reminds you of it. This day has way too much fucking baggage.

Still, now that I'm in a different place and around different people I think there's some potential to turn this day around. Not so much in the "I'm going to have the best birthday ever" sense, but more of the I'm going to try to leave the baggage behind and try to have a cool day anyway kind of thing. I'm going to do this with the help of family and the intake of much vodka. =p


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76