[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2009-02-02 - 11:06 p.m. - i am derricks fifteen minutes of fame...

So, where do I start? I guess I�ll begin with the more interesting resolution. You may want to catch up on my last entry if you haven�t already regarding my unconventional take of resolutions this year. One of my resolutions was to work out and as it so happens, I actually got in a workout today. It was quite unintentional really, and comes with a slightly unusual story.

You see, there is this columnist who works for one of the local newspapers who contacted me through Facebook sometime last week asking me about my workout habits. Apparently the neighborhood that I reside in has the highest concentration of health clubs in Chicago. From what I have gathered, her article is about what it�s like living in a cosmopolitan and seemingly health-conscious area, from the abundance of fitness centers of course.

Actually there used to be one right in my building, but unfortunately that branch went under thus dashing my hopes for a convenient place to work out. Pity, because the nearest gym that I have a membership to is about a half a mile away, not so far that I can�t walk or run to it, but not so close that it�s easily convenient, especially in the cold Chicago winter weather.

So anyway, I gave her my number through Facebook and she phoned me for an interview last Friday. Actually, I thought the phone interview was pretty much it, she asked me a few leading questions and I answered as honestly as I could, given that her line of questioning was a bit more focused and less open-ended. I told her that �ideally� I would work out every day for 30 minutes to an hour a day, but I�ve scaled much of my working out schedule back because of the cold weather.

I think she was more interested with how much �looking good� was a motivating factor to my working out. I told her that both my looks and health were my motivating factors to working out. She also asked how important it was to �dress up� for working out. I kind of gave her a mixed answer. I told her that there is some pressure because there are indeed attractive people out there, but for the most part, I just throw on whatever is clean.

I�m not really sure how the article is going to turn out and how much of my quotations is going to wind up in it until I actually read it. I guess I�ll have to hunt around for it tomorrow morning or perhaps on Wednesday and see for myself. Actually, I was half-expecting the portion that I would be in to just be a tiny quote off to the side of the column.

I was contacted this afternoon however, by one of the editors and he asked if I would like my picture taken as well, working out at my health club and I agreed. I gave the editor the location of my gym and I met the photographer there earlier this evening. There was a bit of trouble at the front desk because the editor forgot to clear the photographer with management, so the manager had to get the OK from their corporate office and the photographer has to sign some sort of waiver. They got it all approved pretty quickly though, nothing like getting free press I guess.

Once we were in, I had to pose near equipment such as the treadmills and the free weights. We did several poses and she easily took several dozens of shots each pose. I guess that�s one of the techniques, just take hundreds of shots making minor adjustments to the lighting and the camera angle and perhaps a handful will wind up coming out well. I�m not sure how many of those shots, if any will wind up in the column but I suppose my �15 minutes of fame� will be coming up shortly. I guess we will see it when we see it.

As for why I was picked in particular by the columnist, I�m not really sure. I suppose it�s a combination of factors. By chance I happened to reside in the exact location that the article was focused on and the columnist was fielding potential people via Facebook. Naturally my name came up because my �neighborhood� information is in Facebook, and despite my lack of hot dating action, I�m not exactly ugly photogenically.

As for my resolution, I pretty much just ran a mile, a half a mile there and a half a mile back, I fucking ran that half mile both ways pretty fast though, because it was fucking cold out there. All I had on was my track suit because since I don�t have a lock for the lockers and I didn�t want to lug a big jacket around. As to how well I keep this �resolution� of working out, let�s just say I�m taking it a day at a time. My building is constructing a common area fitness room to make up for the gym that moved out of the property fairly recently. I�ll probably hit the treadmills once the fitness room is in place and I�ll start hitting the weights at the actual gym once winter breaks and the weather starts getting better towards spring.

So anyway that was the main news. There�s also a bit of side news as well. I actually knocked out another one of my resolutions and that is to clean my condo. The accomplishment of this particular resolution was rather inadvertent as well. A friend of the family was in town a couple of weekends ago and my mom volunteered my apartment for her and her friend to stay in while I hung back at my mom�s place for the weekend. So naturally, I had to straighten the place up and it cleaned up quite nicely. Actually I didn�t quite have time to totally clean my bathroom, but our houseguest offered to clean the tub and shower to return the hospitality, so that was a bit of a bonus.

So there you have it, two resolutions in one entry. Of course if you count another one of my resolutions, which is to blog more, if you count this entry, then what we have here is a trifecta, a �triple-threat� if you will, of resolution accomplishing awesomeness. Well that and my possible �15 minutes of fame�. Sure much of it was accidental or incidental or however you may call it, but for me a win is a win and I�ll take life�s little triumphs wherever I can get them. Now if some hot pussy can just fall onto my dick, I�ll be an infinitely happy man. Perhaps the universe might collapse into itself under the weight of that kind of awesomeness. But fuck it, I�m willing to take that chance. ;) Until next time kiddos...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76