[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-06-20 - 5:34 p.m. - i've been reviewed from behind O.o...

OMFG! I can't believe it! She totally blind-sided me with this but still I'm glad she did. ;) She's someone who used to live in Chicago. I clicked her banner one time and read an entry of her describing Chicago so I sent her a note and get this *GASP* she responded! We basically stayed in contact ever since.

Anyhow, possibly sensing the inability of previous reviewers to relate to my diary content and my own dismay to those reviews, she has taken upon herself to do an unsolicited but honest review of my diary. It was cool of her because I know she's not really a fan of all those diary review sites. Anyway I'll let her own words speak for me:

If it's something I wouldn't normally do...

you know it has to be kinky.

And it is.

A review:

I don't do reviews. So don't ask me to review your site. Hell, the person I'm reviewing didn't even ask me to do the review. It's just that my pal-o-pals, Liquid-Mojo can't seem to get a fair shake, in any capacity. Seems that all the reviewers who've touched his diary have had the dreaded sex-gland-ectomy.

No offense, Gumphood, I know we've made our peace, but you get what I'm saying.

So, I figure, I might as well, as a loyal reader of his diary, a former magazine editor, and a girl who just loves sexuality (her own and other's), give the boy a review. Mind you, I will be honest. That's a key component in who I am, so I'm not saying "a good review" just an honest review.

What I'll be looking at:

Layout, Content, Dedication. That's it. The points will break down like so:

Layout 10 points

Dedication 10 points

Content 80 points

Pretty simple.

Layout: An untrained monkey could use a diaryland template, so anyone who doesn't gets points in my book. HOWEVER, not only is Derrick's layout his own, but much of the artwork is his, as well. He also uses his own photography. He has painstakingly created and tweaked this layout, and he won't stop until it's perfect. This is obvious in two ways: 1 he had the forethought to create a design page, so you can READ about the incarnations of the design. 2 I actually read the diary and can see it changing from day to day. Lastly, the layout fits his personality, dark, but wonderful, sexy and classy.

The only thing I DO NOT like is the fact that ALL of his links open in a new page. Derrick, I love your diary, but not 37 pages of it at once on my desktop!

Because of all that, the boy gets 10/10--he got extra credit for going above and beyond.

Dedication: If the dedication weren't evident from the work he's done on the layout alone, look how often he updates--everyday or every other day. Take into consideration (after actually READING his diary) that he's feeling a bit antisocial lately and the fact that he still comes and writes in a public forum means even more. Also, he has one of the most completely filled out and well rounded profiles. Check it out.

Because of all of that, the boy gets 10/10

Content: Derrick speaks his mind. To me, that's the end all be all of a diary. Therefore, he wins! People who read his diary may be put off by how often he talks about sex or wanting sex. I don't understand this. If you actually bother reading what he says, you'll come to find out that he's not Mr. Conquest (not that that would be a bad thing, *wink wink*). He's not had a string of lovers that he's abandoned. You'll find out that if all he is interested in is sex, it could be had easily. It's so easy to read his diary and use your own definition of 'sex' and 'sexuality' to color how you see it. It's harder to pay attention to his words and use HIS definition of sex and sexuality.

After reading what he says, I know what Derrick means when he says he is hungry for sex. I know, because I've taken the time to learn his style, to care about what he says. Yes, there is a desire for the physical in much of what he writes, but always always always there is also a desire for connection. He doesn't seperate the two. The fact that people read that he wants sex and assume that he has anything less than respect for sex and sexuality is appalling to me.

That said, even if he just wanted to 'do' a bunch of girls and move on, that's his business, and it's diary, which, surprisingly enough is meant to house his business.

Sex is important to Derrick. It's important to him because he desires to be connected to someone. (Don't we all?) I know this because I read what he says, and his words are clear, evocative, and often times very emotional--perfect for a diary.

However, sex is not all he writes about. He has dedication pages to loved ones, which help explain his development as a human. He has a page about his ethnicity which also helps explain his development. He writes about his goals, and his hopes. He writes about his loves, past and present. He writes about his life!

It's all there; it's all very visible and accessible. Anyone not seeing it, because they are blinded by that dirty dirty word "sex," is silly. His heart and soul are there, too. It just takes reading, and caring. If you don't do either, why the hell visit a diary?

Content score: 75/80, because he's never mentioned me ;)

Overall score 95/100. Don't ask if I'll be back. Just know I visit every time he updates.

xoxo

http://conquestgirl.diaryland.com/kinky.html

Pardon me while I pick my jaw off of the floor... After spending a good portion of my life feeling misunderstood, it really feels good to feel when someone actually does understand and empathize and she actually goes a step beyond and not only tells me about it but the whole world, or at least the part that reads her diary... I actually feel kind of guilty now. She is correct, I have been sort of "anti-social" lately, opting to vegetate in front of my PS2 trying to finish Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and going into murderous rampaging killing sprees (in the game of course because doing that in real life would be like so wrong) =p instead of being constructive with my diary and communicating with my friends on AIM. I've also been slacking in reading her diary entries. Well OK I did read the ones about the milkman and I got horny. *blush*.

She even gave me some constructive advice on my design. I guess I can cut down on some of the links that open to new windows. My initial idea was to make any page that did not have the navigation bar (all links other than my entries, older and guestbook) open to a new page. I guess I have grossly underestimated people's ability to use the back button on thier browser. =p I guess I'll fix some of that in my next layout tweakage session. Heh, tweakage, I like that word. =p I could probably tighten some of those links so that they open on the same page like my profile and notes and stuff. Outside pages will still open to new pages though because old habits die hard and I still want to have cockroach-like persistance. ;)

Oh yeah one last thing Rebecca, this entry will count as me mentioning you, but don't worry it won't be the last time... ;)


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76