[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-08-17 - 11:28 p.m. - designviews review by jassie...

OK, I've received my review from designviews, a review site which bases their reviews completely on the layout, content does not matter.�The following is the review and my comments are bulleted and in bold.�

liquid-mojo

First Impression: 1/5 � *blink* Whoa. Can you say cluttered, much?

  • Like Woah! OK yeah I may have tried to squeeze in more than a few elements in that limited space... I'll consider removing a few elements in my next redesign just to see if a simpler layout looks more appealing.

Layout Color Scheme: 7/10 � Black background with white, grey, and blue. I like black, so that�s great but I think you have too many colours. Maybe if you just stuck with black, white, and grey.

  • I used to have a blue "matrix code" background in some of the previous incarnations of my layout. I have removed that background since then for the sake of simplicity but the blue links have remained. Actually according to usability studies, it is usually best to stick to the default blue underlined text for hyperlinks as it it the most recognizable for the casual user. I will keep your suggestions in mind however and consider removing blue from my color palette, just to se how it would look in a layout.��

Text Colors: 5/5 � White. It shows up fine on a black background.

  • It's actually "off-white" as suggested in a previous review by Miss Pyrotic a.k.a. unjane- of Quite Nasty Reviews. I'm actually considering font larger by 1 pt (9pt as opposed to 8pt) and maybe going with a darker shade of white for regular text. Thanks for not penalizing me here...

�Link Colors: 1/5 � Blue. This blue is really annoying me and I don�t know why. Maybe it is because there is no blue in your layout except for the banner at top, which I don�t like. Stick with colors that go together.

  • The banner IS part of the layout,� so the color blue is a justifiable color of the palette. But seeing as you feel as if that color is STILL is out of place I guess that justifies the low score in your mind. I guess I have to live with that for now. As I said I'll play with tweaked versions of this layout that do not include blue in the color palette.

Link Effects: 2/5 � The blue links turn to white with a blue shadow surrounding it. I like the effect, just not with your layout.

  • If you LIKE the effect, logic would dictate a higher score regardless of how it fits with the layout. A 2/5 would mean you hated it, at least in my mind and I already had points taken off in my layout, I'm thinking you are beating a dead horse twice, then again that's just my opinion...

Navigation: 3/10 � I can find my w! ay around the site great, don�t get me wrong there. However, some of your links are lined up while others are in the drop down menu. Put all or none in the drop down menu. Do you really need two prev/next buttons? I suggest you kill the ones under the portfolio image link. Speaking of the portfolio link, it�s rather annoying. The picture is neat, but not as a link. Also, as I mentioned before, the banner with your site�s name on it doesn�t go with the rest of the layout, and it really doesn�t look good as a link though I must admit the light scroll over effect is pretty cool.

  • OK now this is just plain insulting, you could have at least bothered to use a spell checker or maybe see a doctor about that nervous twitch in your pinky finger that causes you to hit the exclamation point. I mean really if you lost your passion for reviewing to the point of careleesssness why not just quit instead of just going through the motions. This doesn't seem like a very rewarding experience for you. Well, OK so maybe you had a bad day, I'll give you the benefit of the doubt on this one.�
  • Personally, I don't see how difficult it is to navigate my site. I designed it so that a chimpanzee can easily navigate to any page in my diary. Ask Bobo, my chimpanzee tester.

��

  • He had absolutely not trouble navigating my site. He gives the navigation a solid thumbs up and he can also easily count past 3 and he thinks you are really jacked for giving me only a 3/10 here. I told him that you are entitled to your opinion, but somehow that has done little to ease his anger. Bobo is angry, Bobo is very angry, Bobo is making obscene finger gestures. Stop that Bobo! That's not very nice!!!�

  • But really, seriously I was just playing with the drop-down menu idea as suggested by Melody in another one of my reviews. I used to have them all as regular links. I even left them as a comment in my source code� In case I choose to change them back. I'll consider making it all text. Thanks for your suggestion and for that really low score. *major eyeroll*

Errors: 5/5 � None that I see.

  • To flip the script a little, I think you gave me too high of a score here. If you would have dug deeply enough like other, better reviewers have you would have caught some errors. Of course these errors are due to a diaryland glitch and they are no fault of the designer. But I guess your lack of thoroughness is my gain, so thanks.

Appeal: 1/5 � I don�t find this layout appealing at all. It almost seems you are trying to do every technique there is in all one layout, or at least with the links. It also is rather cluttered and boxy.

  • Well you opinion is your opinion I guess. I can't really knock you too much for that though the thought has crossed my mind. I admit I do try to incorporate unusual elements in my design. What I don't want is the average "cookie cutter" layout. I don't want it to be basic. Fuck simplicity, I'm not a simple person and I think my layout is a reflection of that. Really if the layout in your own diary is your idea of a "perfect layout" then I can see how mine would be completely unappealing to you. Thank you for your honesty, you have been rewarded with honesty of my own...

Originality: 8/10 � I must admit I�ve never seen a layout like this before.

  • A unique layout was definitely one of my design goals, I'm glad that point was acknowledged...

Bonus: 1/5 � T! he only thing I can find bonus worthy is the light effect on the banner, though I�d still trash the banner.

  • Sure trash the banner, might as be thorough in the trashing of my layout. I actually might consider getting rid of it if someone other than you suggests it. Otherwise your lone opinion is quite meaningless to me. Well OK I think Adam of diaryviews suggested that so I'll think about it some more. I'm glad you liked the effect though. I found it cool as well.


  • Oh and and watch that stray pinky finger, focus and resist the urge to hit that exclamation point mid-word. It's seriously impairing my ability to appreciate this otherwise fine review. ;) Don't think you can retroactively go back and fix these silly typos either. I have a screenshot of those heinous acts of carelessness and I'm not afraid to use it. ;)

Overall: 34/65 � Try to minimize the clutter and change the links looks.

  • At least you offer some constructive advice, I'll give you that much. A little heavy-handed with the point deductions, but hey you didn't like my layout and you had trouble using my chimp tested and approved navigation system. I can see how that could have frustrated you into giving me such a low score. Thank you for taking those 1-3 minutes to review the layout of my diary and for giving me so much ammunition for this lovely rebuttal entry.��I'll consider applying for a re-review in about a month, for entertainment purposes of course and perhaps a different point of view from one of the other reviewers on staff like Michelle whose layout is the epitome of coolness. I'll accept a layout bashing from her any day. ;)

Jassie

http://designviews.diaryland.com/liquidmojo.html


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76