[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2006-05-02 - 11:59 p.m. - in memoriam...

In Memoriam


Gonzalo S. Robles
01/10/1914 to 05/02/2006

On my train ride to work this morning, I received a cellphone call from my mom that my Grandfather had passed away in the hospital around 5:30am. For the rest of that train ride I was unable to hold back the tears for he was the man raised me from childhood to manhood and had done so with so much love. I saw him last Saturday with one of my cousins and I recalled him asking me to take him home. I went to the nurses' station to find out when he was to be released and discovered that he was to be held at least until Tuesday for observation. Although I was powerless to grant his last wish, somehow it seemed like he knew that these might be the last moments for him on Earth and somehow he wanted to die at home surrounded by people who loved him.

He was in the hospital being treated for a urinary tract infection however, and nothing severe like a heart attack or a stroke. Although he was aged and fragile of health, he wasn't exactly on his death bed so it kind of took everyone by surprise somewhat. If only I had an inkling that he may be passing away the next morning I would have done my best to see him last Sunday and last night as well and perhaps slept in his room the last night he was alive. He did not deserve to die alone in a hospital, he should have been with someone whom he loved and who loved him profoundly. Since he lost his ability to eat on his own almost 4 years ago and had to be fed through a tube in his stomach, it was obvious he was was dying a very slow death. Although part of me wishes I could have done more, I know that the last several years of his life weren't exactly the best in terms of his health and ultimately his suffering has ended and he has moved on to a better place.

By the time I made it to work I was emotionally drained, so I sent an e-mail to my boss and let everyone else know about the situation and that I would not be working that day to spend time with the family and then proceeded to the hospital in the same room where he was staying. Some of my family were already present. From the look of his face, he appeared to have died peacefully in his sleep. His hand was cold when I took it to mano, a Filipino tradition where you kiss or touch the hand of your elder to your forehead as a sign of reverence and respect. Even in death I felt it only right to do it one more time. My grandfather was a very stoic and reserved man who always seemed to emanate a patriarchal aura. Remembering the past few days, the past year even it is amazing how much he has transformed. In the sunset of his life he has seemed to have grown softer and much more light-hearted. For example, you would go there to cheer him up and keep him company but somehow he turns it around and he's the one that winds up brightening your day. It was� almost as if he had complete acceptance his fate and the fact that his health would perhaps never improve, but ultimately he did not allow the sorrow to overcome him in the twilight of his life despite the constant failure of his body.

Looking at my own life there seems to be so much sorrow and death of those whom I seem to care about the most. The easiest thing for me to do is to allow myself to sink further into sadness. Looking at how my grandfather lived the last years of his life however, I am somehow inspired. I don't want this event to be a cause for sorrow and despair, rather I want my grandfather's influence over me to be a positive one just like it has been for so long. I need to find my happiness wherever it may be, I need to remember the best times with my grandfather while he was still alive and hold those memories as a cause for celebration, without forgetting that he will be missed in the most profound of ways.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76