[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-07-07 - 11:08 a.m. - i'm out...

I'm out of here, going to meet my family at home and we are all going to drive to NY. My internet connectivity will be doubtful so I may be incognito for the next few days. I'm due back home Thursday, I'll have an update then...



2003-07-07 - 9:41 a.m. - *primal scream*

Fuck, so much pressure. I have 3 users down this morning (all leftover from the holiday weekend) that I have to finish before 12 noon. I have to leave early from work because the the family here in Chicago is planning to rent a minivan and drive out to New York to see grandma. I should leave now but I don't want to leave my co-workers in the cold. We are already short-staffed from people extending thier holiday weekends by taking extra vacation days. I guess I'll just do what I can and get the hell out...



2003-07-06 - 7:55 p.m. - the light is fading...

I feel so fucking drained... My grandmother on my mom's side suffered a stroke yesterday morning. They found her face down on the floor around 6am. She's in the hospital now out in New York. My family there says she is aware of the people around here, you could see recognition in her eyes and her facial expression but she cannot speak at all. She's like 94 years old so it's possible she may never recover and there is a chance that she may fall into a coma or worse if her condtion deteriorates. The CAT scan has shown a hematoma near the thalmus region so there's no way they can operate. My mom is going to fly out there tomorrow morning early in hopes that she can still see her while she has the ability to recognize her. I think I may call in tomorrow. I don't think I'll be up to the daily grind, at least mentally.

I know she's old and these things happen but I still think it's a shame, grandma was such a lively person, so full of life even in her advanced years. She and my grandfather raised me practically throughout my whole childhood. It still hurts to see someone you were this close to fade away like this. She had a unique personality, a flair for the dramatic. She was defintiely an attention seeker and had a cute way of breaking down into crocodile tears in certain situations like when my mom, my sister and I had to leave back home after our visit around Christmas and New Year's. She was just there sobbing because we had to go. My sister loved making her sing songs. Her repitoire included "Are you Lonesome Tonight?" and "�Dond� Est�s Corazon?" (among other things she was fluent in Spanish) and she did it with such flair using had exaggerated flowing hand gestures that went with the melody.

I think my biggest regret is that if I ever meet my soul mate she will never get to know some of the people whom are dearest to me the way I knew them, people like my Grandparents and especially Ray. Sometimes yesterday is so hard to let go of, especially when it was so beautiful...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76