[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-07-20 - 9:58 p.m. - i am derrick's nightlife...

My cousin and I went out clubbing last night to transit nightclub. It's been a while but I definitely got my groove on. He got into the VIP guest list via e-mail which was definitely the way to go because the line was ridiculously long� last night. What they do is open up the club early for VIP's like around 9:30p and it's bottom-shelf open bar until around 11:00pm, then they open the doors to the general public and the bar switches to cash. The open bar only offered mixed drinks so I had like 4 vodka tonics instead of my usual vodka on the rocks. They must have watered down the open bar drinks because I caught absolutely no buzz from them. I had a couple of Absolut Citron on the rocks w/ a twist, when it switched over to cash bar and I had Lemon Drop shots with my cuz' after that. That was much more like it, they were just enough to the buzz was on.�

The night started out cool, this cute chick from surrealchicago.com was gathering e-mail addresses. It looked like she was only approaching the cute people. ;) So I signed my e-mail addy and laid the flirtation on. I got her name and I told her to send me an email any time, she just smiled and put an asterisk by my name. The cutie probably won't email me personally but still it was decent flirtation practice for me. =p She also took our picture for their website. I think it came out OK:

CLICK for larger image...

So we were making our rounds through the club. On the main floor the DJ was spinning techno while the upstairs room was pumping hip-hop. Though the crowd was mixed, Asians were definitely in the house. It was slow going for a while, my cousin and I have similar club personalities in that we are both quiet, we both don't approach many women and when we do, we don't have the easiest time making things "click". After the introductions and formalities are out of the way it's almost like we have nothing left to say and it dies from there. I guess the main difference between us is that he had amazing success with women through high school and early college. He didn't need much game back then, he just gave the look and that was it, instant hookup. Unfortunately for us, that type of game doesn't quite work that way in this atmosphere.�

It's nothing at all like Ray our cousin, the one who passed away. He was a damn smooth talker, we always ran into someone he knew from somewhere, either that or he would make the approach. You should have seen the way he worked, he definitely had his "A" game going. I remember the last angle he used where he was reading the palm of this really cute chick, a perfect stranger even, he was telling her how long she was going to live, how many relationships she was going to have, how many children she was going to have all while caressing her hand. His game was so good, the cute bartender chick was practically dying to have her palm read. Oh yeah the force is strong in this one, all I could say to myself was "damn he's good".�The thing was he wasn't even really looking, he had enough women to keep him busy, he was just doing what came naturally like a cheetah pouncing a limping gazelle in the friggin' discovery channel. This is the type of game I need to develop. =p

Anyway, for a while there was pretty much no action, then a funny thing happened, I noticed one of Ray's friend from way back. Well technically she was my friend too, but she was definitely closer to Ray. We said "hi" to each other, exchanged pleasantries and I introduced her to my cousin. She happened to be with a friend so we all exchanged introductions with each other. It has been literally years since I've seen her but she still looks the same, really cute. We talked for a bit but she and her friend had to go meet with the rest of her friends. This is the point where I should have tried to keep in touch, to exchange phone numbers or emails or something. OK so I'm a little rusty I have to try and learn from that slip up. I mentioned to my cousin that kind of shit almost never happens to me. I told him that was all Ray right there.

We made our way back down to the dance floor and stood by the rail. I don't know where it came from but I noticed this cutie standing next to me and we made eye contact. It had to be a combination of the buzz, bumping into an old friend and hanging out with my cousin which I haven't done in quite a long time, but I actually had the courage to make my approach. She was Asian, I could have sworn she was Filipina though I neglected to ask. She was slim, had long black hair and she was unusually tall for an Asian female. . I guess that helped a little with my confidence because she was as tall if not taller than a good portion of the men in that club especially the Asian men, but I still had the height advantage, I mean we looked good standing next to each other.�

The music was loud so I was touching her waist and leaning in so we could hear each other a little better. It's been a while but it was nice to be in such close proximity with a female again. I introduced my cousin and she introduced all her friends. I was mildly flirting with her and she knew it, but it was a little tame compared to what I think I'm capable of. One step at a time I guess. We eventually found our way to the dance floor, this is where things kind of fell apart. I jumped the gun and tried to get in close for the grind, I wasn't being overly aggressive or anything like that, I was just trying to get in closer, but she didn't seem to be into that at all and sort of backed away. Then the music started to suck and her group of friends began dispersing so we all left the dance floor. My cousin and I went to get another drink and when I found my way back she was gone. My cousin and I started making our rounds again but I couldn't find her anymore. =/ In retrospect I think I should have been more smoother in the conversation and more of a gentleman on the dace floor and we definitely should have exchanged numbers. There was so much fucking potential there and I just blew it. I definitely need more practice at this. I really hope I run into her again sometime for a second chance, to show a little more of who I am.

Anyway my cousin kind of got into the vibe and made his own approach with several other girls when we were making our rounds and actually introduced me this time. Nothing much came out of that, it was mostly meeting, shaking hands and saying "hi" but it was all good. I've gone out clubbing solo on a few occasions and I'll tell you it's much better to hit the clubs when you have a "wingman" to back you up. I'm really glad my cousin is getting back into the groove and I'm glad he invited me along. With a few more runs, I can see us totally getting the digits and hooking up with some of the cuties out there. Our last few runs around the club came up dry and the crowd was starting to thin out so we left the scene. We wound up at one of the better late-night diners in town, Clarke's. On our way there he was calling on his cell trying to hook up with the 4 am bootie call. It was funny because he was trying to do it all discreetly but it was so fucking obvious that was a bootie call. I don't think it panned out but hey at least he had a prospect. =p The service was slow as hell, but the food was just so fucking good. I had an omelet and my cousin had a cheese steak pita. They probably have the best omelets I've ever tasted in my whole fucking life, the secret is that they are baked omelets, which is supposedly why it takes so fucking long. We had a funny conversation, mostly guy talk so I'll spare whomever is reading, all the gory details but there was much laughing going on. =p Altogether we had a pretty good night. We'll definitely do this again...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76