[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-10-13 - 11:13 a.m. - i am derrick's film recommendations...

My last few entries have been rather serious, so I thought I'd lighten the load so to speak and highlight a few independent movies that I have seen fairly recently and, which in my opinion were superlative. It will also help keep my mind off of sex, which is what I've been thinking about a lot lately. These movies aren't exactly mainstream, you probably haven't even seen trailers for any of these movies. I learned of them mostly by word of mouth. You should, however be able to find them at your local blockbuster for rental and I highly recommend them for your next rental or purchase. Although these movies in themselves are very different, they do share some common aspects, mainly they are Asian-centric independent films and they also happen to be very good movies, most definitely worth the price of a rental, in not, the price of a purchase.

The Way Home - Korean (English Subtitled)

This movie has a simple premise, a spoiled brat gets dropped off to his mute grandmother for care-taking by his mother who recently lost her job. This movie is quite the tearjerker as the grandmother in the film without speaking a word displays so much unconditional love that it turns this incorrigible brat, whom you just want to take a belt to, around. It's enough to put a lump in almost anyone's throat. I personally was moved to tears, and being a guy I don't like making a habit of showing my emotions. I think that alone says something. What hit it close to home for me especially, is how much the grandmother character reminded me of my own grandmother who passed away recently. I think it will touch anyone who has someone in their lives who are this loving especially those who have had grandmotherly figures in their life whom they loved.

Photo � Copyright Paramount Classics - from ifilm.com

�

The Debut

All I can say is wow. This is probably the first film that relates the Filipino-American experience to a mainstream audience. The movie is basically about a Filipino-American teen played by Dante Basco (whom I mentioned in my ethnicity section), who through the help of his sister's "debut" birthday party comes to terms with his own heritage, one that he as tried to mask and hide in an attempt to fit in and also comes to terms with his family, especially his father who he has extreme trouble getting along with due to not only generational gaps but cultural gaps and all the expectational baggage that comes with it.�

Filipinos, especially Filipino-Americans will instantly recognize most if not all our common relative cultural references unique to those who have immigrated and/or whom were born and raised here in the US. Non Filipinos will probably find this movie to be an interesting "Cliff Note" to the Filipino-American heritage and I think most everyone will find it an entertaining movie all-around. Oh, and the actresses who played the main character's sister played by Bernadette Balagtas and his "love interest" and sister's best friend played by Joy Bisco OMFG I think I'm in love. Why don't I know females like this in real life? You would thing that being a Filipino would give me access to meet beautiful Filipinas, but alas no Filipina hotties in Derrick's life. *sigh*�

But I digress, the film is definitely worth the price of a rental in my book, and for me personally it's worth the price of a DVD purchase. I'm even considering the soundtrack because the music in the movie was off the hook, with a mix of traditional Filipino music, some by Tirso Cruz III himself a real life Filipino Singer/Actor who played the main character's father. There's also blend of Techno and Hip-Hop including music from real life DJ's: DJ E Man and DJ Icy Ice (from LA radio stations 93.2 The Beat and Power 106 respectively) who made a cameo appearance in the movie.�

Photo from debutfilm.pinoynet.com

�

Better Luck Tomorrow

Holy fuck... This is just one cool fucking movie Asian or not. Really I wish there were more movies like this but alas they are too few and far-between. It's basically about a group of archetypical suburban, over-achieving, ivy-league bound,� Asian-American teens, who have everything (except maybe a decent social life). In their typical suburban boredom and in trying to fit into thier life in suburbia and in the grand scheme, they cross over into the "darker side" starting with petty money making scams and spiraling downwards into sex, drugs and even worse as thier noteriety increases.

What hit it close to home for me what the plight of the protagonist and perhaps most Asian males in general. I remember my own experiences and struggles as a male Asian-American teen, struggles that remain prevalent to this day. Being an Asian male in a Caucasian-centric society, at least according to my own observations is basically a struggle against being invisible. Aside from the support (and pressure) from family to do attain the highest possible scholastic achievements, an Asian guy almost has to excel and shine as bright as possible in order to even be noticed or risk simply fading into obscurity.�

Almost everything about Asian guys, myself included plays into that. We have to dress good, we have to look good, we need to have the nicest possible cars or risk becoming invisible even to our own Asian women. Even in achieving those things, the wealth, the success even power, it's still no guarantee for anything, still the bar is set, ever-high for us. We more or less do what we are told to do, what is expected of us because it's more or less all we know how to do. I could see how the seductive lure of darkness can turn even the most straight-laced of us. It's a way of getting noticed, of getting recognized, of finally not being invisible.�

I really, really hope that isn't what it takes to break free of this "ethnic field of invisibility" I always seem to be enshrouded in. I do have to say the it is indeed a struggle and it puts intense pressure on an the already weary and jaded mind of mine.�I find that everything I do, the importance I place in finishing school, the need to be sucessful, the way I dress, even the smaller things like my pierced tongue and to a large extent even this diary, it's all a part of that struggle to be visible.

Anyway, rent the movie, it's fucking good. So says Derrick...

Photo from ifilm.com


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76