[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-05-10 - 5:16 p.m. - note to melody aka letters2dad...

I usually don't make a habit of writing notes to other diaryland members. Frankly d-land's notes system sucks, unless the diary author actively checks them, there's absolutely no way for them knowing you ever wrote to them. Worse there is no time/date stamp, a person could have written you a note 9 months ago and there's just no way for you to ever know about it. but enough about my rant.

In this case I had to make a significant exception to my general rule when I stumbled across her unique diary. The author, Melody's father passed away recently and her entries are in the form of letters written posthumously to her father. Even in his passing you could see how much she loved him and vice-versa. Despite the obvious pain of his loss the creation of this diary is an outward sign of her unconditional love for him.

Anyway here's a link to her diary:

letters2dad

It's not often i stumble upon a kindred spirit who truly knows the pain of losing someone and finding positive ways to move on. So when I do, I usually like to take recognition. So here's the note I have written to her:

"I don't think I'm taking it well at all." It's probably difficult to see anything good coming from all this pain you are feeling. I believe what that person meant by "taking it well" means being able to make somthing so positive out of all this pain and suffering. It's obvious the creation of your diary is an expression of the unconditional love you have for your father which, even in his passing could not be broken. I know how it feels to have the closest person to you pass away. I know death, I wish it upon myself every day, but somehow I keep waking up and I am forced to continue living out this torturous existence. when i came across your letters to your father there is a certain spiritual tone to them, like you know deep in your soul that he knows what you are feeling and your creation is a manifestaion of that feeling deep within you with the side-effect of touching so many other people at the same time. Although you may feel alone and empty it is as if you are truly not alone. Anyway my deepest condolences to you and your family and my deepest thanks for sharing your soul, however broken and shattered to the world. -derrick

Update: Melody has closed down her "letters2dad" diary. It's unfortunate in that it had contained some of the most moving writing I have ever read but in a way I understand. I think these letters were just too personal for her to keep public. Although she seemed to have had an almost overwhelming amount of support and empathy from those who read her letters, ultimately those letters really were not for anybody except for her and her dad and I think ultimately life just has to go on and on some level this is one of the ways of doing it.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76