[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-01-10 - 12:38 p.m. - where is my mind?

Holy fuck! I woke up this morning randomly flipping through the channels on cable, something I don't normally do on a lazy Saturday morning. I then stumbled upon this really fucking cool independent film, The Adventures of Sebastian Cole showing on the Sundance Channel. The story was set in the 80's, a sort of nod to the teen angst movies of that decade but with the edge and twists of an independent production. Without saying too much about the plot and spoiling the whole movie, it's basically about Sebastian who is part of a typical small town family which goes through an upheaval after his step dad Hank announces he wants to be come a woman and goes through the steps of a gender change and ultimately a sex change operation. His mom goes back to England and takes Sebastian with her, she turns alcoholic and Sebastian ultimately decides to move back with Hank his step dad who is now Henrietta. So Sebastian goes on a series of "adventures" to gain life experience for his goal to be a writer while receiving much needed unconditional love from his step dad as Sebastian learns to accept his gender/sex change. That's basic premise of the movie.

The soundtrack was pretty damn awesome, then again I'm slightly biased towards 80's music since it is after all the music I grew up with as a teen. Unfortunately there is no official soundtrack CD to compliment the movie which is indeed unfortunate because my short-term memory can't come up with a decent list of those songs. The song that really made me tingle was the track Where is my Mind? by the Pixies that played at the end of the movie which consequently played at the end of Fight Club one of my favorite all time movies. All good stuff.

Today also happens to be "d-day". I'm actually going on my date and thus ending my dateless streak which is well over a year since my last date. I thought I'd keep things simple, a movie and some dinner. I tried to keep things open-ended when planning today, but she seemed more than willing to have me intrude upon her Saturday routine. We agreed to meet at my mom's apartment since the parking there is easier and since picking her up was out of the question since she is still sharing residence with her ex. Although they supposedly aren't together in the biblical sense, me showing up at their doorstep could make an already sticky situation �ber-sticky.

I'm not sure what we were thinking but we agreed to meet at 4 in the afternoon. I guess we were both a little excited to start this date as early as possible. She wound up giggling at my random comments which was weird because stuff I try to say in a humorous context usually goes over most people's head in casual conversation and I wind up feeling like I just lit up a dud. Do girls laugh at guys comments even if they aren't funny? =p

Anyway, I suppose that gives us just enough time to catch a matinee if we could find the right movie. I really wanted to see Love Actually, but the show times in the most conveniently located theaters are either too early or too late. We may wind up seeing the Last Samurai which came highly recommended by my ex who was consequently excited at the news that I'm dating again. Actually everyone I've told the date about to seems pretty excited about this whole dating thing. Has it really been that long?

Heh, so anyway for dinner I chose Pasha one of my favorite places to dine and drink. It has a full bar and offers a blend of French and Italian cuisines. I haven't been there in ages so I thought it would be cool to revisit that place to commemorate this slump-breaking day. Come to think of it some of my best dates have been in that restaurant. I'm a creature of habit I suppose. Why break a tried and true formula.

It's my ultimate hope of course to make an impression, so I plan to go all out at dinner. I'll be opening doors, taking coats, pulling out chairs. Ordering pre-dinner drinks at the bar, appetizers when we are seated, entree, dessert, the whole 9 yards. I think it will be cool. Anyway, I should probably get off my ass and start getting ready so I'll do just that. =p


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76