[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-02-19 - 9:46 p.m. - no chocolate-covered candy hearts to give away...

Despite my initial feelings about V-day (I think the whole idea sucks a whole lot of ass...) the actual day itself turned out not so bad. I went out to Transit which sponsored a singles night for V-day with a "Change of Heart" theme for people in relationships looking for greener pastures.

I pretty much did what I usually do when I'm out clubbing which was drinking and pissing the night away with the occasional visit to the dance floor. I totally caught vibe from this one girl on the dance floor. I mean she was looking at me like she wanted to devour me or something.

I usually take that as a good thing, especially since I usually have doubts on my level of attractiveness with women. I mean OK, I see myself in the mirror and it's not like I think I look bad or anything, but then I consider how long I have been single and I can't help but wonder what ultimately makes me unattractive to women. I figure I somehow give off the vibe of inapproachability or maybe I don't have a scintillating enough personality. Whatever it is, it has kept me lonely for what feels like an inordinate amount of time. Some people just "have it" and I happen to not be one of those people.

I guess that is why I like going out on the club scene every once in a while. Somehow in the darkness under the flashing, spinning lights and under the influence of a little too much alcohol, in a dance floor full of people, I actually get the attention of a singular female.

There's just something about that "I want you" look that feels so honest, as if it can only occur in the absence of all pretense, perhaps in the absence of common sense as well. In all honesty she was probably buzzed out of her mind, I knew I was. We gravitated towards each other and started dancing together and then few minutes later, the call of nature, she had to go to the bathroom.

Things were a little blurry after that. I remember her coming back and dancing with another guy for a little and then later she was dancing on one of the pedestals where she later jumped an almost 5 foot drop onto the floor and then hit the back of her head against the pedestal. O.o

She was able to get up and everything but man, did that fall look nasty. I actually felt bad for her, so I wound up getting her an overpriced bottled water as she was sitting down, recuperating from her mild concussion.

A little bit later she thanked me on her way out for the water and I hugged her and slipped her my calling card. Yeah I know, no woman I had ever slipped my card to has ever called me back and she was no exception, but still I wanted to give it to her anyway as a sort of "thank you for noticing me" kind of thing.

As far as propositioning females go,  I do admit that particular attempt was a little bit lame, but it was an attempt nonetheless and I consider that gesture a satisfaction of February's portion of my new year's resolution. Hey, it's better than nothing which was the most likely scenario for me anyway.

Speaking of resolutions, the one where I tried to curb my spontaneous masturbation habits, I continue to fail that resolution miserably. I figure if I'm that tired I would by simple nature be sleeping instead of spanking myself. I just need to watch the clock in the morning and make sure I don't continue showing up late for work. =p Really, I should have no problem with this one, considering I gave up self-pleasuring for the past two Lents (40 days and nights each). I'm probably not going to challenge myself in that way this coming Lent. I figure keeping my act together in school will be enough of a challenge.

Speaking of school, that is one of my ongoing resolutions that I am actually doing amazingly well in. I got decent grades in my first 2 group projects of my Evaluating Human Computer Interaction (HCI) class. Granted I didn't get it perfect, but I was stuck working with a group and I didn't exactly feel like taking control, at least for this class.  I did however get one point off from the perfect score on the midterm exam. Actually I'm a little frustrated with the result of that one, I misread one of the multiple choice questions, jumped the gun and ultimately wound up one point shy of a perfect. I really hate when that happens but oh well, an A is an A...

As for my Server-Side E-Commerce Technology (ECT) class I have aced every homework assignment, scoring 100/100 on every assignment thus far. I remember doing one particular assignment last-minute. I stayed up until 4am getting all the code to work, but I stuck to my guns and got it done. That totally felt good. In one of my most recent assignments I created a mock order form, of a fictitious company. It uses the stuff we learned in class, drop down lists, radio buttons, error validation and it changes the picture based on the item selected. I based the design on the Kenneth Cole New York site, literally making my own company. =p Anyway it's one of the best looking pages I have ever made and it uses probably the most elaborate code I have ever put together.

As for the Midterm presentation my team for the ECT class really came through. I wound up doing the design and the ASP.NET code while my colleagues did the research. Our presentation went pretty well too, we each talked about the part we had done during the presentation and in the end, the group got a 97/100 for the Midterm project. Nice, considering only a few quarters ago I dropped this exact course like a bad habit and feared that it would wind up being a major impediment to my degree pursuit.

Anyway I have another day at work before the weekend and a yet another group project to help facilitate for my HCI class, plus I have to start some design and coding for the final ECT project. so I'll end this one on that academic high-note.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76