[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-05-18 - 3:52 p.m. - i totally reek of awesomeness... (not)

I don't think I mentioned this earlier. I guess I didn't want to jinx it, but I had an interview early Monday afternoon for an internship with a small web design/marketing company. This place was smaller than the last place I interviewed, but it is more conveniently located in the west loop. The office itself was a small loft condo unit with a counter at the perimeter where the computer units and programmers were placed and that was basically the office.

The good news is that the owner hired me on the spot, so my internship search is now over. The interview itself was pretty informal. The owner didn't have a copy of my resume on hand, so I provided him with my copy and he wrote a bunch of notes on it. He wanted to see my work, a first in any interview, so I went to the computer and showed some the better points of my student website. The fact that I was an E-Commerce major was a huge selling point as it is a relatively new major, I was probably the first E-com applicant he ever interviewed and that is pretty much in line with his business.

I think the deal closer is that I had the application for the internship course at hand. I gave it to him to fill out at his leisure should he decide to hire me but instead he filled it out on the spot to seal the deal and he told me to start on Monday. Hmm, wait isn't Monday Memorial day? I guess I should call him back to re-confirm my start day. =p The bad news is that like most internship positions, this one is unpaid so my poor streak is going to continue for a bit.

Still, the opportunity arrived at just the right time and seemingly out of the sky. I got the call last Friday, while I was searching for opportunities on my school's e-recruiting website. I needed to secure a position soon because the Spring quarter is winding down and enrollment for the upcoming Summer and Fall had just opened up for me this Monday afternoon. The call couldn't have come at a better time. Now my degree path is back on schedule. I'll need to split the remainder of my courses, 2 in the Summer quarter and the last two in the Fall, to offset the cost of tuition, since my university charges the same full-time tuition whether you take 3 or 4 courses in a quarter. I would either have to take them all 4 at once or 2 and 2.

Needless to say my Summer is going to be shot, with the hours I will be applying towards my internship and the classes I will be taking during the summer, but at least I'll have practical experience to pad my resume with not to mention the stuff I am going to learn at that place. It doesn't look like the company is big enough to hire me after my internship, but hey you never know and even if I don't have a job right off the bat, My degree is just months away.

As for my bachelor pad, it looks like it is still in the air. There is a small chance I may yet get to keep it as the people that want to rent the unit actually want 2 or 3 units that are right next to each other. That might not be so easy in this building though so we shall see. I really hope I get to keep it as my apartment is my only selling point for sex at this moment. That and my unbelievable charm. Hey, don't give me that look of disbelief. =p�

I've gotten quite the response from my last entry. I didn't realize how many passive readers of this diary were lurking about. Personally, I wish I had a more thrilling life to write about, but all I have is my boring life. But I guess I shouldn't doubt that life will often take unexpected twists and turns that sometimes turn out to my favor.

Let's see, I had sex a few weeks ago instead of a few years ago. That rocked. I got my internship which is totally gravy. I may keep my bachelor pad which increases my chances for random or even repeated sexual encounters, so that's potentially good. I'll be finishing off my degree on schedule which will help me find a decent job which will effectively remove my deadbeat status. That would be the epitome of coolness.

All I need to do now is win the lottery and have dates lined up with all the Victoria's Secret models, then I would totally reek of awesomeness. ;)


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76