[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2005-11-10 - 2:45 p.m. - no rest for the wicked...

Last weekend was the mother of all rough weekends. Since it�s a big entry, I thought I�d do something different and break the entry up in chronological order, so if you were watching a movie version of this blog you would see the �time caption� at the bottom of the screen before each of "scenes" begin.

Friday Night


It started out innocently enough. I attended someone�s b-day party, a really cool person whom I met through myspace I might add. The venue was at Jet Vodka Lounge, a swank joint with an airport terminal motif, a full-featured international vodka menu and cocktail servers in sexy flight attendant outfits.

Delmar, the promoter who helped setup my birthday thing at WET a few weeks ago, setup another promotion for the b-day girl�s party last weekend. She actually got the idea of using Delmar as the promoter for her party from the invitiation I put out for my own b-day in a myspace bulletin. Cool huh?

So anyway, I went to the party solo because my usual partner-in-crime, my cousin usually can�t hang for the Friday night thing because of her work. I made my rounds and of course greeted the b-day girl, the only person I knew in the whole place once I spotted her. Oh and I actually met Delmar this time. Last time I was so blitzed that I didn�t get a chance to run into him. He gave me a free drink card too. =p

It was a nice crowd, but I was a bit of a wallflower though so I wound up swinging back a few martinis to loosen myself up, but it didn�t help much because my game was so off that night. The open bar deal didn�t cover martinis but the bartender was nice enough to give me half-price on them. The open bar promo ended around 1:00am and the crowd thinned out not too soon thereafter.

So I sat around at the near empty bar, riding out my buzz until the b-day girl took off. She and part of her entourage took off to Wet (where my b-day was) of all places and I wound up eating and going home, thus ending my Friday evening. I know I could have done a little better in terms of socializing. I think all I need to do is smile, make more eye contact and open up a little bit more.


Saturday Morning/Afternoon


But anyway, the following Saturday morning and afternoon was pretty low key. I went into hangover recovery mode and was perfectly content with just chilling out for the rest of the day, but then my cousin called asking if I wanted to go out. Part of me just wanted to continue chilling out. I had that scratchiness on the back of my throat and mild cough that is a usual sign of an oncoming head cold. All the chain-smoking of the night before didn�t help matters much either.

There was one catch however, the cute go-go dancer chick with whom I had that wild make out session with on my birthday was hanging out with my cousin that night and I haven�t had a chance to run into her since that night our tongues danced. Honestly, I didn�t know where I stood with her, if I did at all, since that little �interaction� of ours. What I really wanted to do is thank her for one of the best times I had in a really long time but honestly I don�t even know she remembered any of it.

That in itself is a difficult thought to swallow for myself. When I go through something as intimate as a kiss, I�d like to think that I could sway that person as much as I was swayed by the experience. I know that there was alcohol involved and that she most definitely drank a whole lot of it and I could hardly blame myself if she had forgotten the entire experience, but still even armed with that knowledge, it�s not making me feel any better.


Saturday Night before 1:00 a.m.


So anyhow, we went to this forgettable suburban bar to get pre-sauced. I�m not sure why we went there of all places. I think it�s because she was driving on a ticket, which she didn�t even have with her so we were limited on the places we could roll into. Because she had no ID, if she didn�t have a contact to get her into the club, then she wasn�t going to go in.

We only stayed at that place for an hour-and-a-half or so because she had to go-go dance at Redno Five. So off we went in 2 separate cars. My cousin rode with the hot go-go dancer chick and I rode in style with my cousin�s cousin and his new Mitsu Eclipse. The new �06 model is actually pretty damn hot.


Saturday around 1:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m.


Now Redno was more like it. We made it there around 1:00am. The crowd was a little thin at first but things started gathering speed as the night progressed. I wasn�t planning on drinking hardcore that night. Since I blew all my cash the night before I had to ride on my plastic. Visa�: it�s everywhere you want to be when your ass is broke like me. =p

I was a bit tired so I decided to go with Red Bull & Vodka for the caffeine boost. This chick at the bar asks if I want to have a shot with her, so I smiled and I told her maybe. Then 2 of her friends roll up next to her 2 of them were having J�ger Bombs and the third chick, who was an Asian I might add, had some unidentified shot. The ones with the J�ger Bombs downed theirs quickly, while the Asian chick gagged on her first shot attempt.

I was chatting it up with the first chick with some small talk. Do you come around here often? So how do you like this place? The Asian chick still had her shot at the bar so I asked her if she was a nurse. She said no, but seemed dumbfounded by the question. Then I followed by saying �Then why are you nursing that shot?� She smiled and said OK, you got me�

So I ordered 3 J�ger Bombs from the bartender, one for me and a couple for her friends. I would have gotten one more but the Asian chick was still nursing her shot. She finally caught up though when we all took our shots together. They thanked me for the shot and headed towards the door. I�m not sure if they went out or if they went downstairs. It�s been so long since I hit Redno that almost forgot there even was a downstairs. =p

Anyway, the rest of the night was fairly uneventful, I got a few looks here and there but no catches. I was able to get an opening by telling a chick that the tag on her top was sticking out, she was so grateful that she offered me to sit next to her on the speaker pedestal. My follow-through wasn�t so good though because she lost interest a few minutes later and wandered off.

I swear that cats have greater attention spans than drunken chicks. At least you can grab and keep their attention by dancing a piece of yearn in front of them. As for drunken chicks, my dancing yarn doesn�t seem to grab their attention for very long.

Oh, somewhere in between all that, the cute bartender chick poured a couple of Kamikaze shots and had a shot with me. I swear all bartenders should be as cool as her. As the night wound down I shifted my positioning to get different vantage points on the floor. The go-go dancer chick looked totally hot dancing on the speaker pedestal by the percussionist. I swear she�s a total guy magnet and it�s fairly obvious she thrives on that kind of attention. She left her smokes in the car, so she did come to me like every 30 minutes for another one of my smokes. If only she was as addicted to me sexually like she was addicted to nicotine it would be almost perfect.

The crowd eventually starting thinning out, so I checked my watch, it was around 4:30am. I pounded back a few of rounds of H20 and I squared my tab with the cute bartender chick. While I was waiting for the club to close out, I was mildly entertained by this super-drunk chick. She was kind of doing this staggering dance thing. It was amusing how guy after guy tried to take advantage of the situation and grind up on her. She�d have that WTF? expression on her face brush the guy off and stagger to another spot on the dance floor and continue doing her staggering drunk dance thing, only for the cycle to repeat itself 3 or 4 times with different guys. I think the same guy even came back twice. Such is the beauty of alcohol-induced stupidity.


Around 5:00 a.m.


Finally, 5am hit. The lights popped on, the music stopped and they started clearing the joint out. The cute go-go dancer chick got off the pedestal but was still doing the guy magnet thing without missing a heartbeat. I suppose the fact that she was wearing one the skimpiest outfits a female human could possibly squeeze into, helped matters greatly in that respect.

Ultimately though, it was artsy looking club photographer dude that got her attention. He was taking pictures of her on the pedestal earlier and having her pose for more when she got down thereafter. It was an interesting gimmick though. I may have to try that photography thing someday. As such, whatever chance I may have had with her that evening was at that moment obviously not meant to be. So we all said our goodbyes and parted ways.

My cousin�s cousin drove us from the city back to my cousin�s place in the �burbs where my car was situated. I swear, we couldn�t have possibly planned this fiasco out any more poorly. By the time we got back to her house she discovered she was missing her keys. It turns out the keys were in the go-go chick dancer�s car, now isn�t that just lovely. I told her cousin to drive us back to my car so we can wait in there and he could head home. My cousin was then on the cell asking the go-go dancer chick to pass by her place on the way home so she could get the keys.


Around 6:00 a.m.


Then it happened, around 6am the go-go dancer chick�s tire had gone flat and she was stranded somewhere south of downtown. So I drove w/ my cousin from the suburbs, straight back to downtown where we came from. Although she initially pulled over because of the flat, she continued driving south, away from downtown and away from us because she was being harassed by some people on the street. So she drove from 8th a few blocks down to 11th.


Around 6:30 a.m.


About 30 minutes or so later we were finally able to catch up to her car. I went outside to change the flat to the spare while she sat in the driver�s seat of my car to warm up. She was still wearing that flimsy go-go dancing outfit. She also had a jacket on top of that, but that didn�t cover her bare legs and it was rather cold and drizzling out there. O.o

So there I was kneeling on the cold, wet cement while loosening the lug nuts on the flat tire. I had to use the tire-iron and mini-jack kit that came with the car. Not the easiest pieces of equipment to use, but they do the job. So there I was in the cold air breathing in the cold air with my throat already sore from the onset of a cold and abuse from two nights of consecutive chain-smoking. This type of exposure pretty much insured I was going to get sick with a cold.

I finally had the car jacked up, but the tire didn�t come off. Then I noticed a 6th lug nut. FUCK! So I had to jack the car all the way back down to the ground, loosen and remove the last lug nut then I had to jack the car all the way back up again. By that time my back was killing me. I had to reposition myself so that my body was closer to the ground, so I kneeled and rested on my shins.

This time, I had better leverage to jack the car back up again. Oh and for the record it takes about 10 to 15 minutes of constant turning to either jack a car up to proper height or lower it back to the ground, using that stupid mini-jack. Actually jacking down the car is a little faster because gravity is on your side, but it�s still a major pain in the ass.

I was able to finally remove the flat tire, replace it with the compact spare, put in the lug nuts, jack the car back down and finally tighten all the lug nuts with the tire iron. She was good to go, or so we thought. So we began our quest for breakfast. As we were driving to find a place to eat, my cousin was telling me what they had talked about in the car. Apparently, all the guys she ever �dated� were complete assholes and she was utterly amazed and dumbfounded at how nice of a guy I am and she was equally dumbfounded why she is not attracted to a guy of my qualities.

It looks like the �nice guy syndrome� has once again reared its ugly head and cast its dark shadow upon me. It goes a little deeper than that though, it turns out I�m not her �type�. My cousin then revealed she really wasn�t into Asian guys. I kind of knew it all along buy the way she�d flirt with a total stranger, but when it came to us she never acted toward me in any way that could be mistaken as flirting, with the exception of my b-day of course, which really threw me off. Although she loved her as a friend, my cousin then proceeded to warm me that if I wanted anything serious in terms of relationship, the go-go girl would not be a good candidate because of her indecisiveness.


Around 7:15-7:30 a.m.


As we proceeded to drive, I had her follow me to Lake Shore Drive (LSD), which was probably a huge mistake on my part. Although we were driving rather slowly for Lake Shore, which is an expressway of sorts, her rinky-dink doughnut spare couldn�t take the speed. The rubber part of the spare tire popped right off. FUCK again! I checked my rear view mirror and I almost thought I was hallucinating, but I saw the rubber part of the tire roll down the middle of LSD while cars are swerving to avoid hitting the errant rubber tire. That tire must have been under-inflated.

She was able to pull over to one of the emergency parking zones of Lake Shore Dr. I thought about putting on the spare from my car, but the cars were whizzing by pretty fast and there was hardly any room to move around and change the tire again. Plus I was exhausted, so I wound up calling 411 and getting the number to AAA on my cell.

I got AAA on the line. Supposedly both of the cute go-go girl�s parents have AAA, but we didn�t have any of the member numbers and the search under their names did not come up at all, and even if we did have the right info we weren�t sure if the go-go girl was an authorized user under their names.

So I ended the call with the first AAA rep, regrouped my thoughts and called AAA again to arrange a tow truck under my own name. It turns out only AAA members can request emergency roadside assistance, fortunately I was able to enroll over the phone and pay for the annual membership fee via credit card. Damn am I glad I brought that fucking credit card with me.


Around 7:30 a.m.


After I got my membership squared away, I had tow service arranged. The tow service called my cell to let me know that there was a truck about 30 min away so I waited in the car until it arrived. Both my cousin and the go-go dancer were fast asleep in my car. For some reason I was in some weird zone where my body felt tired but I wasn�t really sleepy. It kind of felt like jetlag but not quite, so I just stayed awake waiting for the tow truck to arrive. Somewhere in between, day broke. The sun was up but it was a cold, wet, overcast and dreary day. I got bored waiting around, so I snapped a picture on my camera phone. If a picture could reflect a mood, this picture would reflect my mood at that moment perfectly.




Around 7:40 a.m.


A tow truck pulls up maybe 20 minutes ahead of schedule. I was saying to myself, damn they are fast. When I got out of the car to meet the driver, it turns out however that it was the City tow truck making its rounds on LSD. I told him I�m expecting a tow from AAA. Although he was supposed to tow disabled cars on the spot, he said he�ll continue his rounds and when he comes back he�ll have no choice but to tow the car to the Montrose Beach parking lot where we can leave the car until arrangements are made to pick it up.


Around 7:40-8:00 a.m.


The AAA tow truck finally arrived. Both my passengers were still fast asleep. I went out to meet the driver and gave him the 411. The car was stopped in the emergency parking zone just south of the Fullerton exit. He said there was Firestone nearby that�s open on Sunday, so it was on. He asked me what my ethnicity was. I told him I was Filipino. It turns out he has lots of Filipino friends and he was telling me all these stories about them, how they always hang and joke around, which I thought was pretty cool. As he hoisted the car onto the flatbed, an awful noise of metal grinding against metal was made by the bare spare tire wheel and the metal deck of the flatbed truck. Slowly but surely, he was able to get the go-go chicks car onto the flatbed.

I pulled off to the Fullerton exit to make way for the truck and to let it take lead to the Firestone. It turns out the one we were headed to is close all those clubs by Weed St. The usual clubs like Zentra, Crobar and even the one I went to last Friday, Jet were all within a block away.


Around 8:00-9:00 a.m.


When we arrived the Firestone was just opening up. The guy who opened the place up was the only one there so he started processing everything. The mechanics that actually change the tires weren�t there yet so we had to wait. I went back out to check on the Tow truck driver. He was unloading the car from the flatbed, but he needed help to guide the car down. So I got in the car, held the wheel steady, shifted the gear to neutral, while he winched the car back down the ramp of the flatbed onto the parking lot.

I thanked the AAA driver who set the truck back up and took off shortly thereafter. I then handed the keys to the disabled go-go mobile to the Firestone guy and went back to the car to wait it out. I closed my eyes a little to rest my head, but then I had to use the bathroom, so I got back up to use Firestone�s facilities.

By the time I got back to the car, go-go girl needed to use the bathroom too. She was a little disoriented when she stepped out of the car, so I led her by the hand to the entrance. Sometimes, you can kind of tell by a person�s body language whether someone is into you or not. Sometimes it�s the way that person looks into your eyes or smiles at you. Other times it�s the way they hold your hand. If you give her hand a gentle squeeze and she doesn�t squeeze back you can pretty much take that as a sign that the chemistry is not there.

It was like I held her hand but she didn�t hold my hand back, so I guess that was that. About halfway through she saw the door and said I can take it from here. Then she smiled and said �Thanks Daddy�. I�m not sure what that meant, but knowing my track record with females, it probably means I�ve taken on some father figure role in her mind and it probably has nothing to do with being her �daddy� in bed in that �who�s your daddy?� kind of way. Oh well�

So we continued waiting in the car and the two girls continued their slumber. It must have been 45 minutes to an hour before the tire finally got changed out. I saw them pull the go-go mobile out of the garage, so I went back to the front desk and proceeded to pay for the tire and service with my handy-dandy credit card. Membership does indeed have its privileges.


Around 9:00-9:50 a.m.


Now that the go-go mobile was fully operational we finally proceeded to go for breakfast. I took lead and she followed with her car. My cousin was still dead asleep. I didn�t have any cash and I wanted to eat some quality food, so we wound up driving to Clarke�s in Lincoln Park, one of the best 24 hour diners I have ever eaten in. We were able to find parking about a half a block away with my cousin still sleeping on the passenger�s side. I uttered simple 1 to 2 word phrases such as �WAKE UP!� �FOOD!� �EAT!� as to not confuse the sleeping beauty. My ploy didn�t work however and she woke up as confused as ever. =p

So we staggered our way into Clarke�s got seated and eventually ordered and ate breakfast. One thing I noticed about the go-go dancer chick was that she was really loud. Actually my cousin was loud too but not swearing loud. You should hear the mouth on this girl. I heard stories of her getting kicked out of places and I began to see how that could have happened. I mean if this were 5:30 am after a drunken night of partying I�d understand, but this was somewhere between 9:30 and 10:00 am. There were children and grandparents present and she was swearing like a sailor. I�m just glad nobody took offense. It�s a big contrast to say the least from the times I�ve seen her as the sober, quiet girl. The thing is she really didn�t drink much from the night before but I think the sleep deprivation may have gotten to her.

Somewhere in between I received a call from the office saying one of the backups failed. Because I was part of the weekend and after-hours support and because this was an important end of the month backup, I had to come in and setup a new backup job. By the time the check arrived, nobody had any money, so I covered the bill with my card again. I made sure everyone had all their stuff from my car and my cousin drove the go-go mobile home w/ the cute go-go dancer chick, while I headed towards the train station.


Around 10:10 to 11:10 a.m.


I found parking by the EL stop. I didn�t have my student U-Pass, but I did have my handy Chicago Transit Card on me for backup. I guess all those years in the boy scouts paid off in terms of being prepared. Riding on the EL on a Sunday morning is different than your average morning commute. Trains travel less frequently and there are fewer cars per train. It�s still a good deal if you need to ride into downtown though.

I must have waited at least 15 to 20 minutes until the train finally arrived. Once I boarded, I found a seat and took a long awaited nap. It�s usually about a 30 min train ride from stop to stop. I must have dozed off for too long however because I blew right past my stop. I had to get off at Clark and Lake, bridge over to the other side and hop on the Orange line to ride the opposite direction of the loop back to the stop nearest my office.


Around 11:10 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


I finally made it into my office, but I had nothing with me. I left my swipe-card, ID and keys all at home. I had to use my Driver�s License to check in with security and get a visitor�s badge and I had to ring the after-hours buzzer to get in the computer room. Once I got into the computer room, I did my thing. I re-set the tapes and the backup job up to run. For some reason it failed immediately. It looks like the first tape was �locked�. So I rebooted the backup server, put in 4 new blank tapes, labeled the first tape on the system, set the backup job again crossed my fingers and ran it.

It looks like it was running fine this time. I told the operator on duty to call me back if anything happens. I went back to my desk because there was a pack of Black Cherry Halls I kept in the drawer as backup and my throat was totally sore. It was time for me to finally head back home.


Around 12:01 to 1:00 p.m.


I made my way back to the Loop stop. The sun finally broke through the clouds and I could feel the warmth of its light on my skin. I wish I had my sunglasses though because that shit was bright as hell. The train arrived at the stop around 10-15 minutes later. I took a seat and was half-asleep half-awake. I tried to remain conscious though as to not miss my stop again.

I finally made it back to the home stop around 30 min later. I went back to my car from the station and drove home. I gave a brief recap of my misadventure to my family and excused myself because I went on for more than 24 hours without sleep. I hopped in the bathroom and took one of the best feeling showers I�ve ever taken in my life, and around 1:00 in the afternoon I finally collapsed in a heap in my bed.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76