[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2006-06-26 - 11:44 p.m. - on females and cellphones...

My life has been fairly uneventful these past few weeks. I've scored a couple of e-mail addys from females, but as of yet they never really led anywhere. I also had a chance to use a number of an old acquaintance from way back. We ran into each other at a Christmas party, caught up with each other and exchanged numbers, but she had a boyfriend at the time so I never really got a chance to use the number. Coincidentally she also happened to be one of Ray's friends, which is a cool thing because it�s something we have in common.

Anyway, I heard through the grapevine that she broke up with her boyfriend, so I've been trying to meet with her for the past couple of weeks, but the scheduling is a little tough since she's a single mom and she works 2 jobs. I do have to admit the whole single mom thing is a bit intimidating for me, because I've never actually dated a single mom, but I think it's worth a try. I mean if I want to date women closer to my own age, some of them will have been though significantly more experience than me in terms of marriage and children and I have to keep an open mind or I'm going to miss out on some good experiences. On the plus side she does answer my calls and we actually talk a little bit on the phone and if she misses my call or I leave her a voicemail, she�s considerate enough to call me back, which is something that doesn't really happen from the drunken chicks that I pick up from bars.

And yes, I do manage to get numbers on occasion but only from the weirdest of women. Granted, it doesn't happen all the time, but sometimes I can't help but go WTF to myself, because if you (the girl I got your number from) don't want to talk to me then why in the bluest of blue hells did you give me your actual number? Just give out a fake number or maybe just say sorry, I don't give out my number. That way I don't have to go through the weirdness of explaining who I am, where we met and that yes, I am a random guy you met at a bar, but you did indeed give me your number and I'm not some stalker guy that stole it off some database. Look, I'm all for drinking and having fun, I do it all the time, but if you don't remember giving your actual phone number out to guys at a bars then maybe you are drinking a bit too much. Fucking drunken ass bitches...

So anyway, there's this other girl, totally on the opposite end of the spectrum, young, cute, innocent and recently imported from the Philippines. She's on a resident visa so she's under no pressure to get married for the green card. For someone who is not a native speaker she speaks English really well, almost impressively so. She also doesn't smoke or drink due to some pre-existing heart condition, so I don�t know how that�s going to work out with me being a lush in both respects. Now I have no idea if she�s a virgin or not, not that that kind of thing truly matters to me, it�s more of her virginal qualities. Besides, she�s supposed to have a boyfriend back home.

Part of me just wants to devour her like some sweet tasty treat, but another part of me just wants to leave that kind of innocence untouched because all I can think up in my evil little mind is ways to use her to my own pleasurable ends. There�s just so many ways to corrupt her I don�t know where to start. Having a conscience can be burdensome sometimes, but I guess I do have to live with myself and the rights and wrongs I ultimately do. I guess it doesn't really matter anyway, I mean she doesn't have a home phone or cellphone yet so coordinating an effort to sweep her off of her feet would be inconvenient for me at best and ironically, she thinks of me as being a really quiet guy. If only she knew what was going on in my head...

Oh. I also had a weird dream about my ex. Well OK maybe it wasn't so weird, but the dream was quite sexual. It's been a while since the dream, like maybe several nights ago, so many of the details have faded from my mind, but what I do remember were the feelings. The whole thing felt intimate and natural and the progression was towards the erotic like my cock belonged in her pussy and it just had to slide into it�s rightful place. I guess it would have been a really nice dream if she weren't already happily married with a child because now I feel kind of guilty for dreaming of her in a sexual way.

Actually, I totally feel like shit for feeling good about that sort of thing, but I suppose I really I don't have very much control over what I dream about. If I did it would have been a three-way between me, Jessica Alba and Scarlett Johansen instead in a guilt-free sexual encounter. *rawr* But that's another story. I guess the dream is more a manifestation of some internal need for me to feel and express intimacy, both physical and emotional. Since I'm not getting much of it in my waking life, it's coming out in my dreams and the person who was in the dream was the very person whom I was most intimate with physically and emotionally. It's all interesting to say the least.

But enough about women, I want to talk about the true love of my life, which is cellphone technology. It�s already Q2 and there are so many cool phones out in the world market that have or will be coming to the US market. T-Mobile has already put the Nokia 8801 in their official lineup. I saw ads of it all over the train a few days ago. It�s one of the best phones of 2004, but it is also one of the most expensive. I think it�s around $550 now and that�s with a contract. I guess the good part about that is that you won�t see everyone and their mom having it like say the RAZR V3 phone, which so reasonably priced that it is probably now the most ubiquitous �style� phone out there. It�s the reason Motorola has beat out all but Nokia in terms of market share.

Speaking of �stylish� phones, T-Mobile and Danger are finally releasing an update to the popular Sidekick 2, which is aptly named the Sidekick 3. Honestly, I have no idea why the Hollywood celebutantes types like Paris were so attached to the SK2, I mean yeah, with an accompanying SK data plan it had unlimited e-mail, internet, text messaging, instant messaging, etc. and the QWERTY keyboard came in handy for using those functions. The thing however was a monstrosity. It is so huge and ugly that celebutantes like Paris and LiLo had to take them to NYC Peach, paying an upwards of $400 to bling them up with colorfully patterned Swarovski crystals to detract from their brick-like nature. The SK2 had no Bluetooth, it was on the older packet technology GPRS, which probably made web browsing painfully slow and it had limited memory capacity like 16MB shared.

The SK3 on the other hand makes up for the evils of the SK2, sort of by adding Bluetooth, a megapixel camera, a miniSD memory expansion slot, MP3 player capability and EDGE, which is significantly faster than regular GPRS in terms of wireless download speeds. About the only things missing are WiFi like the MDA and SDA that are already out, to take advantage of all those T-Mobile Hotspots and free hotspots in places like Libraries and Universities. The SK3 is also missing a solid operating system like Symbian OS or Windows Mobile. Although it does have it�s own little e-mail plan, it also still lacks corporate push e-mail, which will prevent corporations from picking it up like they would the Palm or the Blackberry. Finally, the SK3, although slightly smaller than the SK2, is still significantly large. For some reason though The SK3�s are probably going to fly off the shelves during launch time because everyone that�s currently addicted to the SK2 will want the SK3 and those that were on the fence because of the lack of features of the SK2 will probably go over the top with the SK3�s updated features. According to sidekick.com the official site, existing T-Mobile customers can place an advanced order on June 28th, while the rest of the world (or the rest of the US at least) has to wait until July 10th to switch over.

What�s even cooler is that the RAZR V3i the update to the popular RAZR V3, which has already been out in various parts of the world, is finally coming stateside to Cingular on June 30th. It will likely be the iTunes V3i, similar to the ROKR and SLVR that were previously released to Cingular, with that infernal 100 song cap that Apple bitch slapped on it so Motorola could use the iTunes branding, but on the same token, it wouldn�t screw with their precious iPod market share. I guess it�s better than some of the 50 song cap iTunes V3i�s that are still floating around out there. The other problem with iTunes is that the RAZR V3i still has USB 1.1, which makes it painfully slow to transfer music to the phone. Although you can transfer MP3 files directly on the card, iTunes won�t be able to play them unless you go though the iTunes interface. I guess it�s a way of enforcing the song cap.

There are ways around the 100 song limit. One way is to buy an unlocked non-iTunes V3i like I did. The non-iTunes versions come with the Digital Audio Player (DAP) in lieu of iTunes. Unfortunately the non-iTunes versions are difficult to come by even online. There are a few places like wirelessimports.com that sell the non-iTunes V3i, but they charge more for it. Even for iTunes phones, there are ways to circumvent the iTunes limitation, by doing some minor reprogramming to the SEEM you can enable certain parts of the default sounds player to enable playlists, enable the player to play in the background with the flip closed and enable shuffle and auto-repeat within the playlists. I was able to reprogram my V3i that way and I no longer have to deal with iTunes or the slow-loading and limited Digital Audio Player that comes with the non-iTunes version.

Yes, I do have both V3i phones and I�m eventually putting one or both of them for sale. What�s even cooler is that they have 2 versions of the Dolce & Gabbana Gold RAZR V3i. The first D&G Gold RAZR with black trim was the Limited version, which is more exclusive and is limited to 1000 units, which was released a few months back and had a price upwards of $3,000 or more in places like Ebay. The unlimited version, which has gold with silver trim, is being sold in D&G boutiques around the world, though not in US D&G boutiques just yet, and various places online, is a little more reasonably priced, like around $500 to $700 and it comes with a bunch of cool gold-trimmed accessories. I myself bought a gold OEM case online and changed the case on my V3i so it looks very similar to the Limited V3i. Most people won�t be able to distinguish the difference. I also flashed my phone with the limited edition D&G software so it has all the wallpapers, screensavers, ringtones and other exclusive extras that come with it, so it�s rather cool.

There are of course other cool phones that are already out there such as the Nokia N80 and the Nokia N91. Although both have comparable features there are a few major differences. The N91 is first and foremost a music phone, with it�s 4GB hard drive, large player controls and a universal 3.5mm headphone jack. The MP3 Player slides down to reveal the numeric keypad and the steel frame construction looks pretty sexy. It could probably rival the sexiness of the 8801 with the only drawback of it being a bit large in size. It also has WiFi capabilities, which can come in handy for college students who have free wireless internet on their campuses. Lizz a friend of mine from d-land just got one of these babies. I'm still reeling from the fact that a female went for something that's not a pink sidekick or a pink RAZR, but I suppose Lizz is no ordinary female. ;) Actually, I did see a chick with a Nokia 8801 a while back, but I think it's more of an "I got a crapload of money" kind of thing than "I am a tech goddess" kind of thing.

The N80 on the other hand is one of the first phones I�ve ever seen that has 3G WCDMA and quad-band GSM so you can used practically everywhere on this planet. Usually phones in the market are tri-band Europe (900 MHz), 3G with tri-band Europe, or quad-band, with tri-band Europe being the most ubiquitous. There�s also tri-band USA (850 MHz). Quad-band and tri-band USA are suited for the US market because parts of the Cingular network are still on 850MHz and it�s only good if you are on Cingular or are roaming in the US in an 850 MHz zone with T-Mobile. Quad-band is the best if you travel between US and Europe (or any other country that has a GSM network) and use your phone in between. With tri-band phones its almost always a tradeoff between the 850 MHz in the US and 900MHz of Europe. It also has a 3.2 Megapixel camera, a high resolution display (352x416), mp3 player capabilities and it takes a mini SD card. It also has the popular slider format.

Not to be outdone Samsung has recently announced a new �ultra� model series with the emphasis of them being �ultra� thin. It�s obvious they have their crosshairs set on the RAZR and are looking to topple its supremacy in the �fashion phone� niche and will be coming out with a bar (6.9 mm), clamshell (9.9 mm) and slider (12.9 mm). Compare this to the thinness of the original but still popular Razr V3 (13.9 mm) and the SLVR L7 (11.5 mm). Samsung is also the first manufacturer to produce a phone, namely the Samsung ZX10, for Cingular�s 3G Network, which also happens to be the first network in the world, which is in the US for a change, to launch one of the most advanced of the 3G technologies HSDPA, has a bandwidth of up to 1.8 Mbps. The ZX10 looks like an ordinary Samsung clamshell phone, but it can stream video (like Verizon�s and Sprint�s EVDO Networks) and do video conferencing like most other 3G networks.

Finally we have one of my favorite phone manufacturers, Sony Ericsson. They have the unlocked SE Walkman W810 that I saw already out at the Sony Style store. It�s a great blend of camera (2.0 megapixel), MP3 player (expandable to 2GB via Memory Stuck Pro Duo, USB 2.0 connectivity and the ability to use a standard headset) and phone (quad-band GSM and EDGE support). About the only thing missing is an A2DP profile so you can listen to songs in stereo using a wireless headset, which is why I�m personally waiting for the SE Cybershot K790a with will have a 3.2 megapixel camera, auto focus a real flash and A2DP capabilities. About the only drawback is that it will use a new memory format called M2, which is the smallest sibling of the Memory Stick formats, meaning that it will be more expensive, less available and won�t have as large capacity as other existing formats, so it will probably max out at 1GB for a while. Another SE Walkman that will be coming out is the Sony W850, Sony Ericson�s first slider phone. It will come in black and an iPod-esque white color, and will also have a 2.0 megapixel camera and a Memory Pro Duo slot. Too bad it�s going to be 3G/Tri-band Europe, which won�t be able to work and/or roam in places in the US that are still on the 850MHz band because it is one sexy phone.

My next phone will probably be the Sony Ericsson Cybershot K750a, because of the advanced camera features. About the only thing missing on that thing is optical zoom. Even a 2X would have sufficed. The MP3 player and A2DP capabilities pretty much put it over the top for me. Anyway, that�s all I have to blab about for now. Until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76