[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-08-16 - 1:25 a.m. - i ran so far away, couldn't get away...

This morning I ran longer and faster than I could ever recall myself running in my life, thanks mostly to the motivation of my cousin. I started jogging every other morning with my cousin around the beginning of August, when we got back from our trip in NY. We would run a mile out and a mile back. This was the first morning I made the entire mile out without stopping and I made it about halfway back until my legs gave out and my lungs were gasping for air. It was humid out too so I was pouring sweat, and on the last leg home we ran a sprint. My fucking lungs were going to explode and if my stomach weren't empty I would have surely thrown up, but once I caught my wind I felt euphoric.

Little by little I can notice my athletic performance improving, but today at work is when I paid the price. I was so fucking tired today. Not just sleepy tired, but the kind of tired you could feel down to your fucking soul. I was constantly yawning for air. I had my Lunch early because I was fiending for some fucking food, so I wolfed down my PowerBar and ate a couple of Ham and Cheese sandwiches I packed for lunch. I also drank some AriZona Herbal Tonic. It's a green tea based drink blend with tropical juices, Ginseng and Gaurana for energy. Not quite as effective as Red Bull, but it's only 99 cents, the can is a lot bigger and it actually tastes pretty good for an energy drink. That kept me going for a bit.

Since I had my lunch for breakfast, for my break I decided to walk over to my campus go to the student lounge and crash on one of the couches. It's usually dead there on Fridays, combined with the Summer break, I had the place all to myself, so I killed all the lights turned up the window blinds, setup one of the couches and had a quick nap. I couldn't go all the way to sleep, but somehow laying down and closing my eyes helped a little. It was about 15 minutes past my "official" break time not that anyone was counting, so I forced myself up and headed back to the office.

I was still fucking tired though. Come to think of it, going out drinking the night before probably wasn't much help in the energy department either. My friend is part of this social club for Chicago singles who sponsors social events and organizes and does charitable volunteer work. Last night was a social night, which my friend invited me to attend. It was held at Kincade's right off of the Armitage elevated train stop. I'd say the crowd was comprised mostly of thirty-something professionals, singles of course. I'm not sure if this is an advantage or disadvantage but I looked like one of the youngest people in attendance. I was easily one of the cutest guys in the room however, so Yay me! ;)

My friend was off in a corner with her cousin. They seemed settled there so I decided to mingle and work the room. I launched the evening with a Grey Goose Martini. There were a few prospects, but most of the females there looked older than me so I don't know if I made an impression or not. There were a lot of first-timers there as well. I guess there usually is in these types of events. I wound up talking to this really cute Japanese chick, she looked younger too which was a plus. I didn't quite work my game enough to get her digits, but I figure I may go to one of these things again and perhaps run into her for a second chance. It was an OK night, I got my drink on, I got my socialization on. My friend and her cousin left earlier and the crowd was starting to thin out, so I made my exit and the buzz carried over until the next morning.

So OK drinking the night before and intense cardio don't really mix well. Mentally noted, and I use the term "mentally" loosely because that was just fucking crazy stupid. I don't know why I do all these things... Oh yeah, I remember why, it's for the females. Such a silly boy I am... *sigh*


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76