[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-08-16 - 2:00 a.m. - to review or not to review...

That is the question...

I have been offered a position at Rouge Reviews by Kathy. She obviously sees some sort of reviewer potential in me that I perhaps do not quite see in myself. I don't know, I considered being a reviewer once when Lindsey offered me a spot in Sweet Reviews, but my first review ever turned out to be a really bad score and it sent me into a tail spin for which I spent a good deal of time and energy trying to improve and evolve my diary in both style and substance in attempt to "recover" from that bad outcome. It was so much that the "window" for me to review there has probably come and gone since reviewers there, once on the staff cannot recieve reviews according to thier own rules and I still to this day have my re-review pending.�

Having undergone several different reviews, with different reviewers and different review styles, I definitely know what I like and don't like when it comes to being reviewed. Despite contrasting opinions, I always appreciate any criticisms that put constructively. There is also a very fine line between criticism and insult and I could see how I could, in my brashness cross that line.�

I left it open-ended at least for now and told Kathy that I will think about it and if I ever choose to become a reviewer it will be for her site. I have contemplated starting my own review site, my style, my design, my control, but I realized that once school starts My free time is going to become really thin and I might not have the kind of dedication one would need to run a successful site. I've seen a few review sites go under and I'm not about pouring a bunch of energy into something I think may go under. Either I know it will work because I will make it work or will not, no in-between.

I have a few diary projects I want to get out of the way first, such as submitting my diary to (hopefully) the last few review sites I have been meaning to apply to. I am also planning to purchase a Super Gold membership meaning I have to figure out this entirely new list of features and start my banner ad campaign rolling. Not such a simple undertaking that is for sure. I'm not sure I can "squeeze" a bunch of new elements in my diary. It's "action packed" with stuff as is.�

I guess I'll have to consider all the angles and choose wisely...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76