[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-08-21 - 8:56 a.m. - things that make you go hmmm......

To be fair I'm not really sure if this banner was created independently or if it was triggered by seeing my own "subliminal" banner. I just think it to be a strange coincidence that I'm seeing a subliminal type banner just one day after mine has had it's run and not only that but it uses "SEX" in it's subliminal messaging.

Anyway I didn't invent subliminal advertising. Nor was I the first to use "sex" within subliminal advertising. And to be completely honest, my idea was not by any means original, I mean it was inspired my my favorite movie "Fight Club". All I know is that in my memory, I am the first to use the "subliminal" technique for a diaryland banner and now other diaryland people are using it. But you know what they say, imitation IS the sincerest form of flattery. ;)�

Anyhow, I'm not going to point fingers or make any accusations because all my suppositions is circumstantial but here is the banner in question. What do you think?

If my supposition is wrong then it's cool, just think of it as me advertising the dude's site on my entry. ;)

UPDATE: It looks like this banner was up before I even thought of mine. This whole thing is just me and my paranoid delusions. Thanks to all for helping me set the record straight. Yes, I feel like a fucking asshole but it's not like I didn't deserve it... =p



2003-08-20 - 4:19 p.m. - updates...

It looks like my banner got accepted and I got a few clicks of it even. Not bad at all. It's already past 1/3 of the way in terms of views. I've also made some minor tweaks on the main page, like getting rid of the drop down menus and putting back all the text links in the navigation. All of that is detailed in my design page. I also redesigned my comments page so that it pops up in a window along with a few cosmetic changes. Anyway I'm going to try and ditch work early. I'll get back to everyone's notes and comments when I get home. :)



2003-08-20 - 8:21 a.m. - subliminal advertising...

My first banner run did (supposedly) about average. Out of 1000 views I got 17 clicks (a 1.7% click through rate) and one lone reader added me on their list and I'm not even sure it was because of the banner. I guess people are immune more or less to that rectangular thing on the top. At this current rate I have nothing to worry about in terms of keeping up with a flood of readers though which is more or less a good thing.�I may have to go "brute force" with the ads, like SquirrelX or Leslie Irene but I'll hold off on that for now. I don't want my advertising budget to interfere with my drinking budget especially since my days before school starts are seriously numbered. ;)

I just submitted a request for a new banner I want to "test market". I'm not sure it will get past the "review committee" because it's a little borderline, but I thought I'd risk it anyway. It's inspired by the movie Fight Club's subliminal messaging for which if you have seen the movie you will know what to look out for. ;) If it gets rejected I have a more PG-13 version version in my mind, but I really, really hope this one gets approved. Anyway here it is:

Granted the subliminal "flashes" are a little quick. The one of them says "SEX" but the other is open to interpretation. For those who are totally stumped and want to see that frame in its complete full-sized glory just click here. ;)


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76