[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-11-27 - 11:23 a.m. - happy tofurky day...

I have an friend who is a vegetarian. She introduced me to the concept of Tofurky a tofu/soy based product that resembles a turkey, so the vegetarians/vegans in attendance this family holiday doesn't get left out in the nostalgia of the occasion. I thought it would serve as a unique Thanksgiving day greeting.

Filipino-Americans as I'm sure many other cultures who have wound up in America have gotten into the Thanksgiving spirit too. For Filipino-American families, Thanksgiving is much like the typical kainan (pronounced kaa-eee-naan, all long vowels with a slight accent on the middle syllable) a Filipino-style banquet/party centered around family, friends and food invariably served buffet-style. Aside from the traditional Filipino staples, a turkey and ham is usually added to the mix, incorporating the Thanksgiving spirit.

Often missing from the selections of a Filipino Thanksgiving are the usual "traditional" Thanksgiving side dishes, that I often crave from visiting families who celebrate in the more traditional style. Mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, cranberry sauce, candied yams, etc. In fact, I don't think I have ever eaten in the "traditional" sit-down Thanksgiving dinner, even with the more American families I've visited.�

Unless I'm willing to dive into the kitchen and actually prepare those dishes myself, who am I to complain? I suppose a run to Boston Market would help alleviate some of those cravings. It's not quite the same, but it's better than nothing. Anyway, the family and I going to wind up at my aunt's for a Thanksgiving kainan. Not such a bad deal I think, though I have to try and convince mom to stop by Boston Market for my side dishes. It will be a tough sell, since she usually has a tendency towards cheapness, or should I be more "PC" and say frugality? ;)

Anyway, in keeping with the Thanksgiving tradition, I thought about what I have to be thankful for in my own life. I know I've gone through my share of bitching in previous entries, but it's been a while since I've actually made a point to acknowledge what I had to be thankful for. First of all, though I have love and lost, it is truly better than never having loved at all, so I am thankful all my experiences both joyous and painful concerning love. I am thankful for my family whom I love despite all their quirky nuances. My mom, my sister who is growing up so fast, my step-dad, my dad, and all of my extended family. Although my cousin Ray is no longer with us, I am thankful for the times we did share together, it is because of him I have had the privilege and honor of experiencing the epitome of a true friendship.

I am thankful that despite this tough economy with all the cutbacks and layoffs, I still have a job that allows me to continue my education and be financially independent. I am thankful that despite my tendancy towards procrastination, I am doing well in school and that I am able to scramble myself in the last-minute to complete what needs to be done. I am thankful that with 9 more courses to go, I am finally seeing the light at the end of the long tunnel towards my degree.

I am especially thankful for the friendships and acquaintances I have developed through diaryland. Seriously, you are some of the coolest people I have ever had the privilege of being acquainted with. And finally, despite my frequent wishes to the contrary, I am thankful to be alive to have the opportunity to overcome adversity, the opportunity to evolve and perhaps transcend my way of being. The chance to put meaning into an often meaningless existence.

So to all who celebrate the tradition, Happy Thanksgiving...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76