[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-01-16 - 10:52 p.m. - back in full swing...

Ah, finally... The weekend. Nothing terribly new to report here other than that school is in full swing. My E-Commerce application development class is going to be a healthy challenge for me. I don't have any experience doing server-side coding, so my brain is going to be in learn-mode all quarter. I got stuck working in groups as well. 4 big projects between my two classes which will basically count as the midterms and finals for each respective class.

I don't like the idea of my grade hinging on whether my group members are up to snuff or not. I know in the past I've put in more than my share of work in group projects and on more than one occasion the "A" grade was due largely to me carrying most of the work. In my E-Commerce class there was the option of going solo for the project but the project is hairy enough that the group thing may be feasible if only to split the work evenly.

If anything, the web application class has inspired me to update my student website. It fell into serious neglect since I haven't taken as class where I needed to design web pages for quite a while. I had quite a few broken links and images and the main page which looked similar in design to the next few links, was quite a monstrosity. Some of my earlier web design work was also very boring, basic and not aesthetically appealing at all, like this page. Eventually I was able to refine my design techniques with the following courses: ECT250 and ECT270 with one of my final group projects creating this site:

http://keepcarthagegreen.faithweb.com/final/index.html

Our group was competing with other groups from all three of my professor's classes to build a website for an actual organization and our site was picked out of all the other groups due mainly to my correspondence and willingness to change the site based on the client's needs. I designed the banner and logo as well ass all of the features in the "about us" page. The whole thing was �ber-cool.

But really it was all of the work I put into refining the appearance of this diary that helped refine my web design skills to the level it is today. As you can see from my latest student web page design which a remade last night, I have borrowed quite a few elements from this page and have incorporated it into the look and feel of the student page. I even put in a "splash screen" intro page to make it as cool as possible. =p

As for the rest of my life, it has been uneventful. Work has been busier than usual because we are short-staffed.. One of my co-workers had to fly back to Puerto Rico because his dad was suffering from complications due to his diabetes. I heard that they may have to amputate. My thoughts and prayers go out to him and his family. I have yet to move back to my apartment since Christmas break. I've gotten to comfortable in my mom's place over the holiday so much so that the majority of my clothes are back in my old room. Now I have to plan to launder and move them all back to my apartment. I had them all washed at one point right before school started, but then I got fucking lazy and everything is a fucking mess again.

I've decided I'm going to stop washing my clothes at my mom's place. Even though I save some cash, the whole process is turning out to be a huge pain in the ass. It's getting to be so not worth it at this point, especially with the schoolwork I have to worry about. I'm thinking of cutting the weekend thing with my mom too. It's getting difficult for me to go back and fourth all the time. Maybe I can cut it to once or twice a month. I'll figure something out I guess.

As for the date thing I suppose most of the people who left a comment were right on the money. I placed way too much thought and worry and put myself under way too much pressure over a single date. If anything I shouldn't hold too much expectations of how things "should" be, because things just are the way that they are. If anything, I should let whatever we have between us ride out on it's own steam. Whatever happens will happen I guess.

I haven't called her since last Sunday when I checked up on her though. I've been busy with school and low on funds. Plus, I'm not really much of a phone person. Still I might check up on her this weekend to see how she's doing. Anyway I'm totally tired, so I think I'll retire for the evening.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76