[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-04-13 - 10:42 a.m. - the silver lining...

Finally, a some good news for a change. I was was kinda getting tired of me bitching all the damn time. =p Anyway, I got a callback for an internship position I applied for and I have an interview tomorrow morning. About the only thing keeping this from being perfection is that the position offered is an unpaid internship. Still this is a wonderful opportunity to get my foot in the door, and I will get FREE training in programs I've always wanted to be proficient in like Flash MX, Dreamweaver MX, and Photoshop.

I especially want to learn about Flash, since that's where I can potentially make those cool flashy web animations. One of their requirements is that I will be receiving college credit for this internship. This couldn't be more perfect, since I needed to fulfill an internship requirement for my degree and I was worried that simply no internship opportunities existed. Also on the plus is that the company I'm interviewing for was very interested in my date of graduation and the guy I was talking to over the phone seemed enthusiastic that my degree will be complete before the end of the year. This potentially means that if my internship goes well, I may have an entry-level job lined up for me after I graduate. I just need to get my foot in the door.

I'm not sure if I should wear the more business-like, Navy double-breasted suit, or the hip black single-breasted suit for my first interview. I suppose I should go with the stylish, modern tech-savvy look, since I'm not interviewing for some stuffy accounting firm. There's no time to dry-clean my suit though, but I've kept it well-hung so it should be wrinkle-free at least. It doesn't matter really, because I'll be coming in looking like money, like I'm the fucking bomb. Really there's no other way to go about it. ;)

I tell you though, this is just what I fucking needed to kick my ass out of my slump. I know that anything could happen, but still I have a really good feeling about this. I am confident that I'm going to give the best interview that I ever gave in my life and that I'm going to nail this position like a carpenter with a semi-automatic nail gun. I also have this gut feeling that this will domino into something good in terms of my career.

Although the paycheck was good and the stuff I had to do was cake in my last job, I spent the last 4 years of my life just stagnating in that position. You would think that someone there would have recognized my technical skills and promoted me. Actually, I did turn down a position as the lead tech support person for their Wilmington, DE office, but that's because I would have had to give up school and after that step up it would have been yet another dead-end. Plus, Wilmington isn't as fun as Chicago, no offense to the Wilmingtonians out there. ;)

Still, I am so fucking glad that I've stuck to my guns in terms of school and I'm glad my last job afforded me the opportunity to knock a good portion of my schooling off under their tuition reimbursement program. It was a difficult ride at certain times with work and school, but it was all worth it. Anyway, it looks like my days as a deadbeat, freeloading loser are going to be numbered, so wish me luck. I'll keep you all posted on how things will have turned out tomorrow night maybe.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76