[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-06-15 - 1:47 p.m. - the master plan...

So where the hell was I? Ah yes, the last quarter, things just got a tad hectic (to say the least). It's all my fault really being the slacker-licious person that I am. I think T said it best, something along the lines of "way to wait until the last minute jackass...". I wish I could find that comment but my brain is far to fried for that complex activity. Still, in that respect I couldn't agree with her more. I should quit being a jackass when it comes to procrastinating. My intelligence and talent are only going to take me so far, the rest of my goals can only be accomplished through dedication and hard work. Just because I can do most things the last minute and do them rather well, it doesn't mean I should.

Case and point: I received 2 of my 3 final grades through my campus website. I got an A in my Public Speaking course and another A in my Computer Information Systems course, leaving the final grade for my Advanced Server-Side Programming course hanging dangerously in the air. My assignment grades were widely varied, a couple of A's, a bunch of C's one D, a possible B or C for the second to the last assignment and an incomplete final. There was a part of the last two assignments which includes the final that I wasn't able to get to work and by now it's too late for me to do anything about it.

I'm hoping the A's balance out the lower grades enough to make the final a passing grade. It's close enough though that it could fall either way. The main worry of the moment is: Does Derrick get a C- or above or does he fail miserably by getting a D or lower and thus forcing a repeat of said course plus the added time and expense? Tune in next time, same Bat time, same Bat channel...

Speaking of which, I guess the old clich� is true, no rest for the wicked. Not soon after the Spring Quarter came to an end, the Summer session has begun. From today, June 15 to July 15 the condensed summer session will be underway for 5 weeks instead of 10 weeks meeting 2x per week, 3 hours per class instead of the usual 1 time per 4 hour class. I just went through my first class which is the Principles of Marketing course. It meets Tuesdays and Thursdays in the morning and the professor made an interesting lecture which is important because I absorb much more information when things are interesting. What I also found interesting was the fucking cute little hotties in my classroom which does not help my attention span at all. =p There is also the cost of the textbook which was like $99+ and that's for the used one. It's crazy how those bastards jack the fucking prices up, those fucking highway robbers...

I also have the in-class portion that Internship course which meets Tuesday and Thursday night where class readings are assigned and class discussions are held. Along with the class, I'll likely have to make a logs and reports and a final paper as well regarding my internship. All fun stuff. I'll probably have to put in 15-20 hours in the internship job itself for the 5 weeks of class for the summer. Usually it's 10 hours a week for 10 weeks for a normal quarter. I'll have to see how it all works out though. My plan for this summer session is to go Monday, Wednesday and Friday for 5+ hours a day to my internship and spend Tuesdays and Thursdays in my classes with the break time in between doing homework and the like.

After this summer session is over I have a break until September where I take my last 2 E-Commerce courses, The E-Commerce Technology Senior Project (ECT 359) and the Software Project Development and Management Course (ECT 372). I think both courses will go hand in hand with each other. I tried completing my courses in order of lowest course number to highest course number, using the course number as a general guideline to the level of difficulty and those are the two highest level courses left in my curriculum.

The only pitfall that I foresee with my final quarter is that I imagine these last 2 courses being very group intensive. I absolutely do not like the idea of having my final grades depending on persons that not only slack, but totally fail to put in the effort where it counts which is close to the deadline. I've had bad experiences in that respect.

If anything, I do tend to put in my best effort in group situations with the mentality that it is not just my grade that is on the line. I've literally bumped numerous group member's grades up as much as a full letter thanks largely to me coming through in the clutch. I swear, I don't know how other people make it. I swear, some people are just wasting their fucking time and money going to school. I guess I shouldn't talk because I did the exact same thing. The difference is I never dragged a whole group of people down with me. Motherfuckers...

Anyway, enough of my rant. The whole summer thing is actually not too bad, If I hadn't been such a slacker all my life I would have totally capitalized on the shorter summer sessions to finish my undergrad faster. The wisdom of my extended collegiate academic experience has not completely flown over my head.

Although the length I've been in school on and off trying to land an undergrad degree is beyond ridiculous, bordering on the point of heinous, I imagine my graduate degree will will be executed with extreme efficiency. I already calculated the whole thing, if I pursue a Master's in E-Commerce, mostly all the prerequisite courses will be out of the way leaving 1 school year full-time or 2 school year's part time worth of courses and this does not include taking advantage of the summer sessions. The only limiting factors are whether or not the school will be offering the courses I need over the summer or not.

If I find a job I'll be going part-time in school. If not, I'll be tackling my Master's Degree full-time and since it's graduate school I will be eligible for another set of guaranteed student loans and possibly even grants to finance the effort. The "master plan" at least as far as my education goes is definitely underway. Hopefully it all comes through without a hitch. As for my social life, that's an entirely different concern, one perhaps for a different entry... =p


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76