[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-11-05 - 12:35 a.m. - countdown to graduation...

First of all I would like to apologize for neglecting my diary and for not keeping up with my regular diary reads. Saying that life has been hectic is starting to turn into an awful clich� with me. Although I hate throwing that excuse in everyone's face all the time, this may be the last time in a long while that I actually have a basis for that excuse since in a few weeks my last two classes are going to be over and done with and I will finally be getting my Bachelor's Degree. I know I have been bitching in random spurts about all the work I have to put into school, but secretly there is a certain degree of satisfaction in knowing I have put in good work and I have made the grades and carried it through finally to the end. Hell, it fucking feels good to have gotten a significant life goal out of the way.

My last two classes are almost done. The Senior IT Project Capstone was excruciating, quite easily one of the most demanding class projects I have ever participated in. Although I took on a great deal of critical responsibility in terms of web design and programming as well as supporting the other members of the group in the system analysis, design, planning, testing and requirements documentation, I have to say that this is a rare occasion that the other group members have actually come through and made significant contributions as well. The project would not be what it is without the team and for this once I don't have to say that I could have done this class project better solo like I have in so many other class projects. I still have to do evaluations and a take-home portion of the final and after that I have an in-class portion of my final next Thursday and then I'm totally free from that class.

As for my other class IT Project Management, it actually helped that I am taking this class concurrently with the Senior IT project because quite a bit of what I learned in the management class has been carried over to the senior project class even though I haven't officially taken the role as project manager, it certainly helped that I knew how to use project coordination tools such as MS Project. So far I've been doing well, above 90% in the assignments and in the midterms. I was getting frustrated that I couldn't land a perfect score so in the last assignment which offered an extra-credit opportunity, I totally threw in the extra effort and perfect score for the assignment and I totally nailed the extra credit giving me 120%. The extra 20 points will totally balance out the imperfect 90 scores. All I have to do is nail the last homework assignment and the final exam and I'm totally set. Although I don't want to jinx it, I totally smell another 2 A's a perfect cap to my undergraduate career.

I started my job a couple of weeks ago resuming the work from my internship last summer. It's part-time and very low paying grunt work, but it's in my field and it is something to do while I'm finishing off school. So far I've only put in 10 hours last week and it will be another 10 this week. I'll probably ramp it up to 15-20 hours after school lets up. Although I'll still be getting peanuts, the experience will look pretty good on my resume. Once I get my diploma the search for a full-time job will be so on, it will be on like Donkey Kong. All I need is a good entry-level position, hopefully with a company that has decent benefits, particularly one with a solid employee tuition reimbursement plan so I can work on my Master's degree. That's the master plan.

I had a few more things I wanted to spew about like the fucking election but I'll save it for a later entry.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76