[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-11-17 - 2:37 a.m. - all i want is a little piece... er, i mean peace...

I usually don't like writing about politics, mostly because the whole subject completely pisses me off and the energy I throw into ranting about it us usually better spent elsewhere. Still, last November 2nd we had the big election here in the US and in case you live secluded in a cave somewhere George W. Bush became re-elected. To be honest, I was quite pissed about what happened, so much so that quite a bit of negativity was flowing though my head. I think enough time has passed between the election and now however, for me to write about my opinions in a relatively objective way.

My first reaction was, who are all these inbred morons and why the hell are they casting their vote for Bush enough so that he has another 4 years to fuck with this country? The initial image of this type of person in my head was of some xenophobic, gun toting NRA nut calling for the right hand of god (aka "the dubya") to smite the "heathens" in Iraq for harboring supposed unknown legions of terrorists and all-around "evil-doers" and for continuing to to hide those ever-elusive weapons of mass destruction.

As time went on however, I began to realize that not everyone who voted for Bush necessarily fits the above description. Some are neighbors, some may even be friends and family. Most who voted for Bush did so because they thought it was the best choice, whether it be for homeland security, or combating terrorism at home or abroad they honestly thought he was and is the best man for the job.

Thank you for your support.. loyal servants

The illustration (lifted from the somthingaweful forums) was of course in jest. Still, I was trying to illustrate a point, that both candidates Bush and Kerry are indeed politicians and both will rally and make a whole bunch of promises that they will never keep. If you think Bush has any intention of adhering to any of his campaign promises continue staring at the above picture until you start feeling sleepy, then e-mail to me all your relevant account information. All your cash are belong to me.

Seriously though, I think most people who voted for Kerry, did so because he was anybody but Bush. Personally, I had other ideological reasons such as health care, reproductive rights, the right to due process, the right to gay unions, environmental policies such as the Kyoto Protocol and of course movement towards peace. Whether or not Kerry would have come though on some or all of the issues is of course unknown at this point, but I think he would have done his best and most importantly he would be taking measures to get our troops back home.

I understand the terrible event and the repercussions of the terrorist attacks of 9/11. I remember the world and the American people rallying behind the US to help oust the Taliban and the Al-Quaeda from Afghanistan. I remember the candlelight vigils in people's front yards and the show of American flags on people's houses and cars. I was honestly touched by the level of reverence and patriotism at the time and like most people who has come to bear witness to this terrible tragedy, I wanted justice.

I think all of that began to change when the Bush administration decided to take the war to Iraq who absolutely nothing to do with the terrorist attack of 9/11. Don't get me wrong, I am very much in support of the US troops and as much as possible I would like to see all of them come home alive and not in a wheelchair or worse as casket. In fact, I think working on having them all come home in one piece so they can return to thier families is the ultimate form of troop support. With that said, it's the leadership that I question and their motives for staying in Iraq even though they have already conceded that no weapons of mass destruction was found which was the initial reason given why Iraq was invaded.

It is obvious, by the way the people have voted in the election that this country is indeed divided. There is one basic idea that I want people to consider whether you are Democrat or Republican or whatever. That idea is peace. Violence begets more violence and more hatred. How about using war only as a last resort after exhausting all peaceful and diplomatic options? The US already dismantled the Iraqi regime, I mean seriously who do you think is left? It's the civilians who have taken arms because the rest of his family got blasted to holy hell through US bombing. Having nothing else to lose, why not drive a car full of explosives to a military checkpoint and take a few of them out? These people aren't terrorists, or at least they weren't before the US set foot in Iraq.

It is my sincere hope that Bush will do something good with his presidential power in the next 4 years, especially movement towards peace. The Bush administration certainly has the power to pass whatever policy they want now that the Senate majority is now Republican. It remains to be seen what will actually be done. Anyway, I just had to get all that political bullshit out of my chest and with that said I am out of here...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76