[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2004-12-24 - 10:58 a.m. - happy christmahanukwanzakah to you...

Looking at what I wrote a couple of entries ago, you can probably tell I'm not very much into the holiday spirit. Not too much has changed in my life to alter my opinion of the holiday season in general. Needless to say being single during the holidays absolutely sucks, but having been single for the past 4-5 years, I guess in a way I'm kind of used to it by now. A more difficult idea to overcome is my inability to share in the gift giving. Even with my part-time income, I'm barely making a dent with my financial obligations so I haven't been able to buy a single present for this year for anybody. I guess my lack of spirit hasn't helped much either because I could have probably been more creative and I could have maybe made some presents. That however, would require more caring and enthusiasm than I have in my heart.

The toughest part was telling my sister that I owed her a gift. I always try to get her something special. I think last year I took her on a shopping spree. She has been so into the holiday spirit buying and making gifts for everyone. It kind of puts my holiday spirit to total shame. Hopefully my lack of holiday spirit doesn't bring her own holiday spirit down. I'm not quite sure of what to do at this point except to try and make the best of what I have.

Yesterday was the last day of the only full-time person on staff, so my boss who has been out of town for the past few weeks on business offered me a small raise and asked if I could stay aboard full-time. I told my boss that I'm willing to put in 40 hours/week. I definitely know that I will not be able to work at the same capacity as the person who is leaving, but I think he just needs someone to man the office while he is gone. Even with the raise, the pay really isn't all that much, less than half of what I used to be making at my old job, but since I'll be bumping my hours up from 15 to 40 hours per week, It will make a difference.

My boss is supposed to be back after New Year's. Exactly when he is coming back is debatable, the earliest is January 3rd but really it could be for another couple of weeks since he is trying to establish operations in Peru and he can't just leave things half-cocked over there. Although I don't really picture myself working in this company for very long, I don't want to leave this guy in the cold either. I'll probably wait until he gets back, then express my interest in going back to school (and thus seeking a job that will pay for it) and stick around until he hires new people, train the newbies with my Jedi knowledge and then move on. 

The really interesting part is that the work that I am doing for this guy, I can very easily do for myself with very little money to start up. I just need to purchase some software a domain and a cheap web host. The startup costs is less then $400.00 which I can probably make up in less than a month if things go well. I've been talking to my mom about investing in my little venture, I offered her 100%+ return on her investment (which is more than doubling her money) plus 10% of the take from the income I would generate from my first site, but instead she wants half of the profits on everything I make in this business now until then end of time. I think she wants to retire on my Jedi skills or something.

Granted she was a little drunk and high at the time, but I might have to leave her out of the equation. I can't be in business with someone of that ridiculous level of greed even if she was only joking or high or drunk or whatever. I think I'll just take one of my credit cards or maybe I'll just take my next paycheck and startup the business on my own. Or maybe I'll talk to her when she isn't so buzzed. The important part is that I have a plan of action in my brain that needs to be set into motion and I have the knowledge and the skills to execute it.

So anyway, that is that. Though I'm not really much into the holiday spirit this year, the future does hold some promise if I play my cards right. Oh, I did want to share something that did help with my holiday spirit a little. Virgin Mobile USA launched a quaint holiday campaign promoting an "all-inclusive" celebration called "Chrismahanukwanzakah". I like the idea of people of different faiths being able to come together in celebration, a far cry from the reality of this world, but a good idea nonetheless. In an effort to spread the holiday cheer, I'll end this entry with the Christmahanukwanzakah jingle:

Happy Christmahanukwanzakah

It's okay if your a Muslim,

A Christian or a Jew.

It's okay if your Agnostic,

And you don't know what to do.

An all-inclusive celebration

No contractual obligation

Happy Christmahanukwanzakah to you!

(and pagans too)

In some ways we're all monkeys

well maybe just a smidgeon

I'm a Scientologist

That's kind of a religion...

Whose faith is the right one,

It's anybody's guess...

What matters most is camera phones

For $20 less

And there's never an hidden fees

Oh what a joyous day

No commitments means

I'm proud to go both ways!

Happy Christmahanukwanzakah to you!

(this is going to be the best Christmahanukwanzakah ever!)

- Copyright 2004, Virgin Mobile USA, LLC


 


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76