[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2005-01-21 - 10:32 a.m. - somewhere between asleep and awake...

I think I figured out an underlying reason as to why I've been sleeping in late for almost this whole past year. The most obvious reasons, of course are because I have no early-morning responsibilities and I've just been bumming it since I've gotten laid off and especially since I later competed my degree. There has simply been no need for an alarm clock as of late.

Still, I do have a part-time job which I am able to earn more work hours if only I can get in early enough to take advantage of it. I've been trying to sleep early so that I can wake up early, but what usually winds up happening is that I wind up sleeping longer hours. I haven't really been counting how long I've been sleeping, but I could easily hit 10 hours or more of sleep in a day though it's probably closer to 8 or 9 since I like staying up late.

But I digress, what I was trying to get at was the underlying reason for all these long hours of sleep. It dawned on my a couple of mornings ago when I had to actually wake up early to drive my mom somewhere. I woke up in the middle of one of those dreams where I was trying to solve some complicated problem and I was on the brink of an epiphany. This used to happen all the time when I was in school, especially when the course had complex problem-solving involved, like when I had to create a program to do something specific and I stayed up all night trying to get it to work but to no avail, but later coming up with an idea the next morning that solves the problem.

Anyway, the theory I've come up with is that I believe that I'm trying to solve my life's problems in my sleep. The catch is that the problems in my life can't be solved through some simple mathematical formula. There are no easy answers in life. In order to get what one wants out of life, one must possess the courage to embark on a journey itself, the wisdom to guide the oneself through the journey and the strength to carry and maintain oneself through the path. Often choosing one path can close off an infinite number of other paths because making one choice is almost always at the expense of other equally-good, if not possibly better choices that could have been made making regret an almost too common feeling.

The bottom line is that my mind both consciously and sub-consciously is trying to solve a problem that cannot be solved by the mind alone. I am without a doubt a thinking man and I often stumble into the pitfall of thinking way too much about everything. Thinking at best can only take me halfway there, eventually I have to actually carry myself the rest of the way if I want to get where I am going.

So anyway, it looks like some changes are going to be headed into my life. I have an interview scheduled with my former employer this Monday for that helpdesk position that is opening up. It remains to be seen what salary I will be making in this position. Although working at the helpdesk will provide it's own set of challenges, it may be a step-down from the position I formerly held because I was working hands-on with the equipment. It makes sense that this position would open up first though since the helpdesk was down to one full-time employee when I left and the people who managed the network had to rotate helpdesk support.

I guess it doesn't necessarily matter if it's a step-down since, it will be a full-time position with benefits. I'll have health insurance, 401K, paid vacations and the tuition reimbursement. I'll be able to go back to school and start on my Master's and by the time I'm done, the baby-boomers who are holding on to all the fucking jobs are going to start retiring in the next 5-10 years and there is going to be a shortfall of qualified people, meaning the power of the job market is going to shift back to the employees who are of working age and the disenfranchised Generation X'ers like myself can finally take their rightful place in society without all those burnt out ex-hippies who sold out and went back on their idea of peace and love hogging all the good stuff and perpetuating the war-for-oil-machine.

Grr, sorry I didn't mean for this to get political. I'm sure that none of the un-showered masses of hippies that were at Woodstock are currently part of the Bush Administration trying to shove the light of democracy down the throats of "evil-doers" in the "dark corners" of the world that have huge oil reserves and weapons of mass destruction so hidden that they don't even exist. Still, the baby boomers are indeed running the country now and what the fuck are they doing? Giving peace a chance? Hardly. Damn hypocrites. Sorry again, it just pisses me off, fucking people.

Anyway, I have to go now and work it at my low-paying job. Until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76