[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2005-01-31 - 11:04 a.m. - sotally tober...

Well, here it is the last day of January. It's amazing how time can fly if you don't really pay attention to it. I've been slowly picking myself out of the rut I've been in since last entry. Salary issues aside, I'm starting to see more and more that the return to my old company is indeed going to be a positive change in my life. People around me started noticing that I was acting different, I am smiling more often and acting more confident. I suppose I didn't really notice the change myself until someone pointed it out, but once it was mentioned I thought to myself that yeah, something is different.

To celebrate, I got totally wasted last Saturday. My cousin brought her friends over to my place along with two bottles of vodka. We were doing vodka cranberry and vodka shots and wound up dropping her under 21 friends home after we got our drink on and wound up going to a bar in Wrigleyville. The thing is, I don't remember much after we left the house, I vaguely remember dropping her friends home and not much else after that. I woke up to a spinning room the next day and a severe case of the munchies. In retrospect I should have probably ate something before I started to guzzle all that vodka.

So I called up my cousin the next morning and asked her what the hell happened that last night because I hardly remember any of it. It turns out we went to John Barleycorn and they kept losing me at the club. I didn't know where the hell I was at because it was all blacked out. She told me I even did a shot with them, why don't I fucking remember that shit? I think they finally found me when they were closing the place down and the lights came back on. I didn't know what the hell I was doing. Oh she also told me I was throwing up on the street on the way back to the car. Lovely, I'm actually glad I didn't remember that part. Damn, I must of been fucked up with a capital F. I'm glad my cousin was driving because I was definitely in no condition to do so. I guess that's the good part of me getting so totally fucked, I'm like so out of it I don't even care. I totally got my sick off that night, which was cool.

But I digress. I just finished writing my letter of resignation moments ago and I am going to email it to the proprietor of the part-time job I'm working in now as soon as I get into work. I can't say that the whole experience with this company wasn't fruitful, because I was able to earn my internship credit at school and I was able to gain some valuable knowledge, which I will be using in the website that I am developing on my own. Still, there was something about working in that place that was just draining to the soul. Working there for dirt cheap, although it did help a little bit financially it didn't do very much for my morale. My boss didn't help with matters either.

Don't get me wrong, there are moments when he could be a really cool guy, but the moment something happens and he thinks he is losing money or believes that he is being ripped off, watch out because he switches into full asshole mode. You should have heard this guy talking over the phone talking to whomever he thought messed up his bill or his shipment or his order or whatever. I knew it was only a matter of time when he would have turned that shit on me and when he actually did last Monday, I knew I had to get the fuck out of there.

Since discretion is the better part of valor, I of course waited until I was sure another employment opportunity was secured before I turned in my notice. Really though I wanted to serve it to him that day he had the audacity to bitch at me at the same time he bounced my payroll check. I used the part of me that was pissed off and channeled it into my work. I wanted to prove through the quality of my work that I'm not the slacker he was accusing me of being and I fully plan to complete the last of my projects during my last two weeks there so that he will know what he will truly be missing once I am gone.

With all that aside, I will be starting my new job at my old employer exactly two weeks from today. It will be in a different department that I was in before so the chance for advancement looks very good. It looks like aside from answering phones at the Helpdesk, I will be cross-training to do network stuff right off the bat. Their confidence in my talent is already a good sign and their willingness to invest in my talent is an even better sign.

So anyway, I have a few other things to write about, but I'm going to start getting ready for work so I'll save it for another entry. That's the one thing I'll miss about the job that I am going to be leaving, those flexible slacker hours where I don't need to wake up to an alarm clock. I suppose I should enjoy it all while it lasts. Until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76