[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2005-02-01 - 11:41 a.m. - shiftting gears...

I tendered my 2 week notice via e-mail yesterday to the owner of the place I'm working for before I left work last night. I received a phone call on my cell a couple of hours later from him saying that he got my letter of resignation and he let me know that the 2 weeks will not be necessary and wanted to terminate my employment immediately.

I think he eventually realized that I have to do stuff like turn in my keys and submit my work hours and turn over all the projects I have been working on to someone else, so he shifted gears and told me to come in the next day for my last day. I knew that he's well frugal and totally anticipated he would have done something like that, but since I'm trying to travel on higher ground I thought I'd extend the professional courtesy of a 2 week notice.

I think it's better this way anyhow. I wasn't really feeling very much love or dedication for the work I have been doing as of late and although there were definitely cool moments but the fact that 3 people turned over before me was a sign that I was in a slowly sinking ship. So I wished my soon to be ex-boss the best of luck with his business and I thanked him for the opportunity to work for his company.

So I suddenly have all this free time to mentally prepare for my new job and get some other things in my life in order. I think I have to take this as a sign that I have to shift my own gears in life. I promised myself at the beginning of the year that I'll start working out in February and look it's fucking February 1st. So now I have to get all my workout crap that has been sitting in a laundry bag for months all washed and ready to go.

I've also been accepted to the Graduate program at my University which was pretty much a shoe-in considering I graduated from there so now I have to take some sort of assessment to see where I can begin in the program. I think I've already taken all of the prerequisite classes in my undergraduate degree, so I can go straight to the core classes.

Oh and it turns out that my official job title is going to be the "Helpdesk Coordinator" and not a just a simple "Helpdesk Technician". I'm not exactly sure what that entails really other than I may be expected to take on more responsibilities, but I guess I'll be finding out a week from Monday. I think they did that however so they can get me back at my old salary level because the helpdesk positions are usually considered a step lower than PC tech support positions, which was the position I was formerly in and if I were to be hired back as a helpdesk technician I would have to have taken a hit in my salary. I think they have also taken into account that I am a recent graduate which, possibly warranted a higher position. In any case, I think it will be good for me in the long run.

I also have some other news that I want to share, but I have to get ready for my last day at the part-time job, so I'll leave it for an entry for tonight. Until next time...


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76