[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2005-02-18 - 9:30 p.m. - back on the saddle...

Whoa, I can't believe it's fucking Friday already. My system hasn't gotten used to this whole 8 to 5 workday thing. Although things seem to have gone by pretty fast, I can't help but feel a bit exhausted adjusting to this new routine. I know I've been neglecting my diary, but really I've been just too tired to do anything but rest when I get home from work.

As for my new position, it's a little weird. I'm still doing tech support but I'm not crawling under desks, opening up PCs or hauling equipment back and fourth anymore. Instead, I'm troubleshooting problems over the phone, either by talking through a procedure or by accessing a PC by remote control. Sometimes calls are back to back and other times I'm just sitting there waiting for the phone to ring. Usually the call volume is somewhere in between the two extremes and they just roll in steadily throughout the day.

It can get a little frustrating since technically I can't leave the desk to troubleshoot a problem. All I can do is write a ticket and pass it along to another group, usually the PC Tech group, the group I used to work with. I guess the main source of my frustration is that I know exactly how to troubleshoot and fix the majority of the technical problems that come my way, but I am simply not able to because I cannot leave the desk. Sometimes it feels like I'm just passing the buck, but really it's my job to cover the phones and to route certain calls to the proper places. I suppose I'll get used to the whole routine and to the idea in due time.

Although my current job is much more mentally draining, it also happens to be much more sedentary. Being confined to the desk, I don't get to run up and down the stairs and move around from place to place. Back when I was a PC Tech, I kind of felt like Batman or something. The tech room had all the PC equipment in there so it always had to be locked so it was kind of like my bat cave. It was situated conveniently next to the stairwell and the freight elevators so whenever there was "trouble" I'd shoot down the stairs or hop onto the elevator and eliminate the problem.

Back in the day, before all the layoffs started happening, it was a really fun job. Still, the job was sort of a dead-end. I did have a chance to be the technical liaison for the Wilmington Delaware office, but I was still working on my degree, so relocating was mostly out of the question. The main thing is that there will be opportunities for me to cross-train and learn things outside of the help desk. Because the help desk and the network group have the same supervisor, I totally see myself advancing my position within the next few years.

Anyway, I don't mean to babble on and on about work, but really that's all that has been happening this past week. My brain is tired so I'm going to put it to rest and stop trying to type out coherent sentences. I'm going to do this right now.


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76