[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2006-03-30 - 4:55 p.m. - best week ever... (not)

This week has been a little hectic. I had my first class of the spring quarter last Tuesday, attended a friend�s b-day gathering last night and I have my first class for my other course tonight. I tried not to get smashed last night so I wound up taking advantage of the $1 Bud Light Drafts the bar had last night. I normally don�t get a buzz off of light beer, but I suppose if you drink enough of them they eventually get to you. After about 10 or so servings I felt like I was practically drowning in the stuff. Beer in general makes me piss like a racehorse so I�m feeling a bit dehydrated. I also have a mild beer-induced headache and I have that feeling of tired from partying just a little too much the night before. Somebody shoot me please�

Speaking of which, one of my female friends asked me how her makeup looked. I told her it looked fine though I was hardly an expert. She said she trusted my taste because she considered me a �metrosexual�. Although I�m sure she meant it as a compliment, I�m not sure I�m comfortable falling in the �metro� stereotype. My idea of a metrosexual guy is someone who goes in for spa treatments to get facials, have various body parts waxed and has regular manicures and pedicures. So OK, maybe I have a little bit of style, but not to the point that I do stuff females do to get pretty. Although metros are supposedly hetero, it just seems suspiciously close to being homo, not that there�s anything wrong with that I just don�t want to project the wrong image of myself. Whatever man, I�m not going to sweat it. I can�t help it if I look like the fucking hotness without trying hard. I�ll just let people stand in wonder and awe. ;)

I also made the mistake of loading Doom 3 on my laptop. For those familiar with the original game it's a first person shooter game that made the genre popular. Doom 3 has very similar weapons and game play to the original. The main difference between the original and Doom 3 (I never had the chance to play Doom 2) is the storyline and level design.

Without going into too much detail, in the game you are basically a grunt Marine sent to a research facility on Mars. Things start out fairly normal. You report to your commanding officer get your standard gear. Then while on your first mission, hell literally breaks loose and the facility gets attacked by some unknown force. You hear people screaming and dying on your communicator and lighting is sporadic at best so you have to use a flashlight to find your way around certain areas and switch to your gun as enemies, which turn out to be zombified/possessed humans from the facility and demon-like creatures, may lurk around dark corners. It�s kind of like a cross between Aliens and Resident Evil. The game is meant to be played in the dark with the speakers turned up to increase the scary-movie-like suspense factor. Although I did load the game during my spring break, I barely touched the surface in the game. I can totally foresee how I might zap huge portions of my free time playing this game.

I also got a new RAZR V3i to replace my RAZR V3 which is starting to fall apart at the battery hatch. I could have of course tried to do a crazy glue fix, but I�ve been itching to buy a new phone for some time now and I�m tired of seeing everyone and their mother have some version of the RAZR V3 be it black, silver or pink/magenta or even the updated V3c. Because the V3i does not have a US carrier yet, I�ll probably be the only one that has one for the next few months. The V3i basically has the same feature set as the SLVR L7 with iTunes, TransFlash card slot and all, but with the RAZR form factor. The camera has been upgraded as well from VGA (0.3 megapixel) to 1.2 megapixel. Because it�s imported, the voice dial feature is tuned to a British accent. I�m going to have to go in and reprogram the damn thing so I can talk to it without faking a James Bond accent. I�m also having issues with the iTunes feature. The phone is on USB 1.1 and has a 100 song limit so it�s painfully slow to fill up with songs and there�s room for about 20 more songs but the damn iTunes software locks the damn thing to 100. I�m going to have to see if there�s either a hack for that or if I can reprogram the phone so that it has the non-iTunes player on it so I can just transfer songs directly to the flash card which is about 10x faster than the old USB/iTunes interface. So many distractions�

Anyway, I have to get ready for class. It looks like it�s going to be a tough quarter at least in terms of studying. Since these two classes I�m taking this quarter are foundation classes geared towards understanding the �larger picture� there won�t be much programming or coding. I�m going to have to quit the midweek drinking too. I�m kind of hurting right now and I still have class tonight. I guess I better pick up a few cans of red bull on the way there. Until next time�


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76