[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2006-04-01 - 12:36 p.m. - every day is april fool's day...

I didn't think it was possible, but I think I've done one of the stupidest things on the planet and it's apparently just in time for April Fool's day. I tried to Flash and Flex my new RAZR V3i phone which is are fancy terms for replacing the internal software/firmware programming of the phone. I knew that there are 2 versions of the V3i an iTunes version (similar to the ROKR and the SLVR) and a non-iTunes version, but I learned the hard way that the programming of these versions phones are incompatible with each other.

It turns out that the phone I have is an Asian iTunes version, which has a preset 50 song limit, which sucks because I have a 512MB microSD/TransFlash card that can hold about 120 songs and there are new 1GB microSD/TransFlash cards that can potentially hold 240 songs. I had to either upgrade the song limit through iTunes which supposedly costs around $50 and can up the limit to 100 max songs like the ROKR and the SLVR iTunes phones that are out there.

There is also a supposed hack that can boost the iTunes cap to 1000 songs so if a 4GB card ever comes out and is compatible with the V3i it can theoretically be filled with that many songs. but the tools that allow the java files on the phone to be removed and replaced on the phone is in some weird language, possibly Russian so I haven't the slightest idea how to work it.

So I got the idea in my head that I can reprogram the phone to totally flash/flex the iTunes out of existence and just use the generic Motorola MP3 player that way I don't have to deal with iTunes and its artificially imposed song limit caps and I was interested in flashing in the special extras that came with the the uber-expensive Dolce & Gabbana limited edition gold V3i. I also wanted to fix the language so that it had the US English instead of the UK English so I didn't have to talk like a James Bond wannabe when using the voice dial feature which actually only worked if you used a British accent and intonations. The only thing I'd miss is the cute British female voice in the voice menus.

The whole thing backfired on me though and I wound up frying my phone. It won't even turn on anymore, which means I can't even try to flash/flex it to normal because the thing has to be on in order to do so. So I sent an inquiry to Motorola pretty much claiming that the phone died on it's own accord after trying to charge it overnight, hopefully their warranty department will offer me a replacement, but man that kind of sucked. What's funny is that I did it just in time for April Fool's day. So yeah, haha, I feel like an idiot now. So now I'm back to my old RAZR V3 until it all gets sorted out. Oh well, it was a beautiful phone while it lasted...

On the plus side, I think my classes are interesting enough to hold my attention, which is a good thing considering I retain much more information that way. Nothing like a little brain candy to sweeten the school quarter. The only things I'm worried about is the amount of work I'm going to have to put in for these classes in terms of both writing and reading. It's not like a programming class where I can hack the code in a couple of nights or even the day of the due date. I actually have to do more traditional classroom stuff. I also have to work in groups for both classes, which have almost always been a pain to work with in the past. It can potentially put a damper on my spring time social activities, which is not cool because I'm craving female interaction like a crack fiend craves the white rock.

Anyhow, it will be mildly interesting to see how everything works out so I'll do my best to keep y'all posted. Y'all come back now, y'hear?


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76