[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2009-02-07 - 2:25 a.m. - chasing time...

I�m an in unusual mood right now. My paternal grandfather, the last of my living grandparents passed away last Wednesday. He got really sick about a week ago and I was kind of bummed out because I was planning to visit him when I found out about his condition, especially since I think it is infinitely more meaningful to �pay respect� to a person you love when that person is still alive. Since I couldn�t quite put it together to do that, I�ll have to do the only thing that is left and pay my �last respects� by flying out to Toronto this weekend for the wake and funeral.

My only consolation at this point was that I was sure to tell him that I loved him the last time I saw him, about a year or two back. I suppose that�s a good way to live life in general, treat every moment as if it could be your last. I know that statement has a tinge of morbidity, but without the pain and the feeling of loss that comes with death, it would be too easy to take the gift of life for granted.

One thing I have been increasingly aware of is how ultimately precious of a commodity time is. Even with school out of the way, there are never enough hours of free time in the day to do things that I love doing. It seems that every little choice is at the expense of another choice. Spending an extra hour of gaming means I�ll be losing an extra hour of sleep. Going to the gym for a treadmill run means I�ll be too knocked out to do anything else once I get back home. Picking up a new book means I�m spending every waking moment to get though �just one more page�. And to think, that entire dilemma is just dealing with my own personal free time. Imagine how much more intricately convoluted it would all be if I�m sharing my life with someone I care about. That�s quite a bit to chew on.

Speaking of time my need to sleep is catching up with me. Just a quick follow up on my last entry. The article finally went to print last Thursday. Word got around pretty fast at work at least, which was kind of a cool side effect. More importantly, the article which ironically is about working out, something I haven�t been doing faithfully or at consistent intervals, has somehow renewed my interest, even inspired me to work out more often. Hopefully the weather will be nicer when I return from Canada. Time will tell I guess. Until next time�


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76