[this is my life, and it's ending one entry at a time...]


2003-08-07 - 9:22 p.m. - lavishreview by vickie...

Here's my review from lavishreview by Vickie. Since I went "all out" in the comments of my last review I thought I'd go back to the bulleted "point by point" style of commentary. The review is basically contained in the indented blockquote and my comments will be bold and bulleted.

liquid-mojo :: 07 August, 2003

[ http://liquid-mojo.diaryland.com | v.liquid-fade.1.8.1 ]

Layout: (20/20) self-designed
Javascripts, ay? Black, white and blue/purple, very gorgeous and creative indeed; but why does the sexy lady dancing up there link to your profile? In general, I like the witty layout despite it being a little too busy to my liking... Wait! Excuse me, was I supposed to read those tiny white texts? Oh no, please kill me.

  • The dancing girl used to have an alt description saying somthing like "Visit my profile, the bootie is hypnotizing you to do so..." when you hovered your mouse over it, but since that particular javascript does not allow alt tags I guess the meaning is lost a little. I may link it to something more "appropriate" as soon as I can think of it, perhaps my "erotica" entry, I'm not sure yet. There are alot of things going on in my layout I do admit. I tried to make it as simple as possible, but trying to fit all that information even in a 1024 x 768 space can be daunting to say the least. I'm sorry about the small white font. I've played with larger fonts but I made a sacrifice and went with more squeezing information in a smaller amount of space. The font is actually "off white" so the contrast isn't as severe, but I may make it a darker shade and I'll at least play with the idea of a larger font in my next redesign. I'm glad you didn't take any points off despite your annoyance of "little white texts".  

Content: (48/50)
The compliments:
You know, I was wondering that when you said you're undersexed, you were not really undersexed. I thought being undersexed was to have subnormal sexual desire or potency or something along the line, yet you seem to be entirely the opposite. Ha! Just teasing you. I do know what you're trying to say.

  • You actually made me giggle there, but really you shouldn't tease a sexually starved man like myself, it's like poking a stick at a sleeping beast. ;)

Your writing is often deep, humorous, honest - and sexy. You told us that the "diary" prior to this one was a "cocklog", so I knew it was going to be full of sex (or lack thereof - quoting from you). You didn't hold back anything in your entries, and you actually said that you wouldn't lie to it; very bold. I especially love your 100 things. It's like your different "phases" all rolled in one, and I definitely know a lot more about you. It's good that you started to talk about something else rather than sex since May, and they've been the same frankness and straightforwardness.

  • I'm glad you noticed my attempts at broadening the subject matter of my diary. Honesty is very cathartic for me so you can pretty much count on me being open and honest in my diary about sex or whatever else happens to be on my mind.

Pardon my ignorance; who's Russell Wong? I asked my whole family and none of us (we're from Hong Kong, by the way) have heard of him. Oy! Nobody said sex was bad, but you really talked too much about it in the past. I like this one, you write just like the way I do sometimes. Okay...

  • There's probably a different film culture in HK but the most popular movies I've seen Russell Wong in is the Joy Luck Club and Romeo Must Die. Perhaps a Google search of his filmography may help you find a movie he starred in that you might be familiar with. As for sex the talk, I guess it all depends on how you look at it. My "Zen" response is that I talked about sex in the exact amount I needed to talk about it. It was on my mind, the feelings, the frustration, the yearning and in the absence of sexual gratification I needed to let all of that out in some way, so I did so in my writing. If you had any entries even remotely similar to my "planet derrick" one, I will definitely give your diary a visit. ;) And yes I do silly things with pictures when I'm bored, but you really have to see that movie to understand that whole thing. =p 

Other personal favourites: this about your father/childhood and this for your cousin. Beautiful.

  • I don't know what to say here except thank you...

The criticisms:
Although I know you've stopped talking about it as much now, I read all your older entries and this was what I thought: Did you seriously need sex that much? Did sex take up that much of your life? It seemed to me that you maintain a good relationship with most women just so you could have sex with them. I didn't like the "you gotta cough before you get off..." and "it's almost over..." (both on April 13) entries at all. Some people might find it funny, but I'm rather offended by it. I also felt unconfortable reading this; but I guess you were being honest to yourself so I cannot complain.

  • Yes, I want sex, I love sex and I need sex and though I have chosen to vary my subject matter and my writing style in lieu of a more mature "voice" in my diary sex is still a very strong and a very real need within me.  I won't deny that I do enjoy sex physically, if you read carefully however, sex to me is much more than a just a physical act. For me it is the ultimate expression and the physical manifestation of my need to connect with someone else on a profound level. I won't deny that good sex would be a significant contributing factor in my desire to sustain a relationship, but I think I have reached a level of maturity where I would need to connect on other levels aside from the physical. A broken heart is nothing new to me and I know that one of the keys to my happiness is to find someone that I can relate to on all levels, physically, intellectually, emotionally and spiritually. And yes I know I can get quite graphic with the sexual content so I'm sorry for the discomfort. This is the main reason I put the disclaimer, in recognition that some of my content can be a little overwhelming for the casual reader. What can I say? Except that I do have those moments of extreme horniness and sometimes I just have to let that part of my psyche take over, no excuses, no regrets...    

Grammar and Spellings: (7/10)
Your grammar is perfect, but you have a couple typos, spelling errors and misplaced apostrophes in your entries (especially the earlier ones). "Undersexxed" on the picture is also a misspelling. Others used more frequently: anyhoo, thier, wierd, etc.

  • I try to use a spell checker but sometimes I just get lazy. I know I should use it more often and I'll keep that in mind. I always proofread my entries at least once and I usually make minor grammatical changes to make the reading more "flowing". I must have fell asleep when they were going over the spelling rules of words containing "ie" I guess it's not always "I before E, except after C". I try not to use slang in my diary but the "colloquial" in me has a tendency of slipping out and "anyhoo" is one of my favorite colloquialisms. I purposely misspelled "undersexxed" in that picture to add emphasis on how messed up my "condition" is I suppose. =p I do have to commend you on your ability to catch all of these infractions. I'm not sure if English is your primary language but from what I read in your diary you do it very well.  

Errors: (9/10)
The pictures didn't show up on this and this page, there was a sudden tiny horizontal scroll on this page (or is it me?), all your next links go to index.html from this page onwards, and because of your clever font size of choice I almost didn't notice that you have entries that have no capitalisations at all. Nothing too major though, I think.

  • UGH! the dreaded red X's oh how I loathe them. I'll have to make a mental note to fix those broken image links when I get a chance. Methinks the next links that point to the index.html page are diaryland glitches. I'm hoping they will fix themselves, and yes I've sacrificed capital letters for the sake of brevity and flow of thought. I try not to do that but sometimes I can't help but sneak in the occasional "quick and dirty" entry during office hours or at school.

Updates: (5/5)
Your writer's block, parties, etc. - you explained why you didn't/couldn't update.

  • I'm glad you caught that, very perceptive...

Contact: (5/5)
Guestbook, guestmap, notes, email and AIM.

Bonus: +4
Like all your lovely extras, but your tiny, tiny, tiny, tiny font really put me off. Why do you people hate me so much? =(

  • I don't hate you, really I don't. It was a design compromise, believe me. :) 

Additional Comments:
This review will go into one of your entries along with your comments, right? Oooh.

  • So you predict the future as well as do reviews. I admire a woman of many talents... ;) I guess you don't need a crystal ball to predict the obvious. =p

Newest entry read: rougereview.html (07/08/03)

Total: 98/100 - oops, I thought it'd be a 100+

  • I guess it can't all be perfect. =p Still, to Vickie:  I really appreciate the close-to-perfect high score, all the bonus points and especially all the time and effort in making such a detailed review despite all my sexual writings...

Reviewer: Vickie

http://lavishreview.diaryland.com/liquidmojo.html


|

<< | >>

[chicago time]

[fade into my nothingness]
Layout, Design & Content by Derrick aka liquid-mojo � 2004
* Designed for IE 6.0 browsers and optimized for 800x600 screen resolutions and above. ** Please read the DISCLAIMER...


[navigation]

search
the present
the past
forward
back
profile
notes
readers
faves
recommend
design
sitemap
disclaimer

[contact]
guestbook
note me
e-mail
aim


[bio]
about me
ethnicity
100 things
philosophy
liquid-mojo
planetderrick
pet d-rock

[extraneous]
mobile blog
creativity
reviews
quizzes
quotations
erotica

[links]
friends
links++
beyondZINE
beyondZINE blog
photobucket
haloscan
host

[fringe]
jktty
sleepyjane
lean-forward
infodva
fofaoa
chickpea981

[the list]
elysium1982
liquid-mojo
beckers-j
underd0g
choose-life
sosuga
nmnohr
quietflames
pantypulldwn
newschick
krugerpak007
ionme
l-alle
vizionz
stormysky
tampaxofdoom
anavi
girl-genius
question-it
smedindy
indulgentia
wwidgirl
sexfiendgirl
askblaze
stepfordtart
kiosh
puter-chique
shoegazegirl
classicrose
zkandaloza
blazingstar
uncleal
flicka
pattymelt
ktdream
lass
reynedecoupe
nikig
goingloopy
dulligirl
dinosaurorgy
endless-sea
kungfukitten
veralynn
danddteacher
serenaville
yeahimadork
pipersplace
chickpea981
tiragem
foursquare
fireflyez76
divamel
heydomsar
frozen-vodka
acornotravez
sexyatheist
anthronut
lostmystic76